We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in Windemere!”
other travelers have booked this property
Nook Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nook Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Nook Garden
Front Gardens
Front Gardens
Nook Garden
Nook Kitchen
Nook Kitchen
Nook Bedroom
Nook
Nook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Windemere!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Home away from home!
Very friendly owner and very clean and charming house away from the road. We loved coming back to the house after a long day waling and relaxing in the living room!
Would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the place
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwrbyshire
Reviewed March 29, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oscar1232...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming B&B”
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

My husband and I stayed at ivythwaite with my sister and brother in law whilst visiting The Lakes District on our UK holiday.
This area was one of my favourite holiday destinations. The scenery was magical, so quant were the little towns and the scenic drives really lovely.
The weather very changeable with looting rain and heavy fog one day and warm blue skies and sunshine the next. My tip is pack for all seasons!
We saw the area by car and also took the ferry across the lake
Mick and Wendy were great hosts, sociable and helpful ensuring we had a great stay in their lovely home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to village
Liked least: Poor Internet access
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Pleasant, comfortable accommodation in a convenient location with its own parking space. Felt the place could do with a deep clean (thick layers of dust in some places!) and the mid-week replacement towels and cleaning of bathroom/kitchen never happened - someone just came in a emptied the bin - but these really are minor complaints. Basically, this is a nice place to stay and served as a great base for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Failed to provide the mid-week cleaning service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2011
We were genuinely sorry that on this occasion dust was found in the cottage as we try to maintain a high standard always in cleanliness. The Nook is now in high season and constantly in use and cleaned so we were surprised at the comment but have taken this on board and repsonded effectively. Our mid week cleaning service and fresh towels is entirely optional and we do request our guests to advise us if the service is required we do not intrude on the privacy of guests once the Nook is let.
Many thanks we always appreciate the feed back.

Wendy
Ivythwaite Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading
Reviewed March 16, 2011 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
darlington
Reviewed November 7, 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING.
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing