We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoebox room with wardrobe shower for £80 a night .... AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadfoot Guest House
Ranked #43 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find door locked ... Woken by hoovering outside room at 8am ... Joinery workshop outside room , sink in room barely space to move round bed . Advised to go to bowness for food with Windermere closer we found out later. Slammed front door after taking money .... Room and breakfast worth £40 a night if valued on "four in a bed" never to return!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Charmron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail P, Owner at Meadfoot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello Charmron, you seem to be a little mixed up with regards to prices, you have quoted them far too high for last year off season, we have looked back through to our bookings for the room you say you stayed in and there is only 4 for the whole of October 2012 of course the prices are also shown!!!! We don't have a joinery workshop any where near Meadfoot, I have never and would never slam my door on any of my guests, with regards to the front door being locked?? If it was left unlocked any one could simply walk in, this is a Guest house not a hotel with a full time receptionist etc. if you could forward us the dates or date when you satyed here this information would be very helpful to us . Very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the lovely Meadfoot guesthouse in July 2013 when we were visiting the area for a wedding. Before our trip I contacted Gail the owner with a question and she was most helpful and not only keen to accommodate my request but went over and above our expectations. Upon arriving we were greeted and shown to our room (double with adjoining bunk room for the children giving us privacy but reassurance they were close), which was comfortable and had patio doors which opened straight out to the lovely garden. The wonderful breakfast (which will set you up for the day) is served in the dining room which has large glass doors again over-looking the garden.
In my haste I had forgotten to pack something and Gail was very helpful in not only telling me the best place to purchase but gave me a lift and showed me to the best shop. Gail and Steve were super with the children (who haven´t stopped talking about them) and more than kind, turning a potentially stressful time into a positively perfect weekend. The guest house is situated about a 10 minute stroll from Bowness making it a convenient yet peaceful location. We can´t thank Steve and Gail enough for their kindness and hospitality and wait to be able to return again, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa-G-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Gail and Steve the owners of Meadfoot were warm and welcoming, really taking the time to make our weeks stay with them a break to remember, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent full English, toast, fresh fruit, cereals and cakes and if that was not enough Gail even catered for my special need......Porridge, tasty! Steve had a special talent, finding excellent places of interest to visit during our stay, most of which I can honestly say we would never have never have found without his help. Our room was clean and tended daily with generous replacements of tea, coffee, biscuits and towels, and we both slept well in their comfy bed. Gail and Steve are a hardworking couple, and make an excellent team and so deserve their high ratings for Meadefoot, lovely break, perfect location in Windermere and good weather was an added bonus. xxx

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wende S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've literally just arrived home and wanted to write a review as the overall experience at this guesthouse was outstanding.
We arrived on Friday and informed Gail, the owner that we were going to ambleside for a boat trip. Gail offered us a lift and then asked if I had a warm enough jacket and said she would provide me with a shawl if not. My partner then asked if there was an iron available and Gail offered to do the ironing for him. Gail is incredibly sweet, chatty and cannot do enough for her guests.
Both owners are genuinely interested in their guests and their stay and at breakfast the next day both asked about our trip, our plans for the day...and our hangovers.
Breakfast is lovely! cereals, fruit and yoghurt as well as a full English and as much tea and coffee as you want. The breakfast room also has beautiful views over the gorgeous garden.
Our room was lovely and opened up into the garden and the bed was incredibly comfortable making for a lovely nights sleep.
Before leaving Steve and Gail let us leave our bags whilst we wandered around the town.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. We went to the lakes for a friends wedding which was absolutely fantastic made even more lovely by the hospitality and kindness of Steve and Gail. A fantastic couple and a fantastic guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstenj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming, Gail met us at the door and showed us around... Gave us recommendations on where to go, eat and drink whilst there (all proved great choices). Bedroom with patio doors was great. Nice to have private entrance. Breakfast lovely. A great choice making for a very pleasant stay in the middle of Windermere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed July 2013 with two other couples from different ends of the country we had a warm welcome from Steve and Gail We had the garden room with large patio doors which opened onto the garden Loverly clean room comfy bed after our champagne was chilled in Gail's fridge it was brought to its in the garden with fresh strawberries
The day after one of our party were celebrating a birthday on our breakfast table was a birthday card from Gail and Steve another nice touch
After a hearty breakfast and a long day out on our arrival back Steve and Gail told us they had prepared canapés for us in the garden another nice touch and Also chilled the champagne and added again the strawberries plus added candles to the birthday cake
After our evening out which was cheaper than the night before as we didn't need starters due to the two plates of canapés thank you Gail and Steve

They left a umbrella and candles out in the garden for our return yet another nice touch again over and above what they needed to do
Needless to say we all had a fab time and will be back a hard act to follow thank-you for making our weekend special



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days from the 15th July 2013. Gail and Steve are really friendly and Gail is like your mum from home! She loved my Belfast accent although she couldn't understand a word! Very central to Windermere centre and a lovely 20 min walk to the many shops in Bowness. The breakfasts are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Gail. we had the four poster bed room and it was excellent. I would recommend the Meadfoot to any couples wanting to stay within the Lake District. We certainly would stay there again at any time.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for Room #1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigal47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Coppice Guest House
The Coppice Guest House
#17 of 107 in Windermere
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,446 reviews
4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadfoot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadfoot Guest House

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $110 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadfoot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadfoot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadfoot Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing