We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadfoot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadfoot Guest House
Ranked #48 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We found this fantastic little guest house in the springtime and loved it so much we went back in the school holidays, we couldn't of wished for a better welcome. Gail and Steve were so friendly and helpful gave us lots of top tips on the best places to see and even took us to the annual Troutbeck duck races : }. We love the lakes and can't wait to head back to Meadfoot in the new year. Great accommodation ideally situated a short walk to the lakes and local shops, and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    11
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
102
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited they lovely mead foot and was made very welcome by the owners Gail and Steve, nothing was too much trouble and felt like we had known them for ages by the time we left. The breakfast was fab and would go again just for this!
Only a short walk to the shops, bars and restaurants. The room was lovely and clean and we had a great nights sleep in our lovely sleigh bed.
Gail and Steve are apparently new owners but you would never know from the great service and hospitality shown to us all weekend. Will certainly be returning to meadfoot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed at Meadfoot several times this year and am already planning my next trip.
The owners are very friendly and very helpful and the rooms are gorgeous and immaculate.
All in all I would recommend a stay here... Just make sure u don't miss breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerikeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked to visit this hotel in the easter weekend of 2013, made the booking with Gail and as it was a bank holiday I asked if they would accept a booking for one night, with the possibility for two nights. A month later they cancelled the booking as they only wanted to take bookings for two nights. I was quite unhappy about this and contacted Gail, who was very rude on the phone and hung up on me. I rang back a few minutes later to be subjected to abuse. I was prepared to go for two nights, but now I would not go there for free. Disgusting treatment of customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank CovertJellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The perfect location for visiting the lakes. The rooms are good value for the price and breakfast was very good too. The owners are very helpful and we wish them all the best with the work tthey are having done .

Room Tip: The garden room is great as it has it's own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

we booked this weekend in august for a treat before xmas....we werent disappointed, the hosts gail and steve were very welcoming, loved our room and the use of facilities were good, apart from the distance to the centre of windermere in the cold was not too good, but never the less i would certainly return....especially for the sauages on the breakfast they were delicious. The only niggle id have would be the bathroom was very small and you dont get much room to move..other than that a great weekend was had by my boyfriend and i.

Room Tip: ground floor, you have your own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here as located near to a wedding venue. It is in new ownership, I understand from earlier in 2012. You'll receive a very warm welcome, a clean room and bathroom, together with a great breakfast. There are a couple of minor teething troubles that they will overcome, like lighting outside and maybe being able to allow guest out on to the balcony (just not safe yet) but this won't spoil the visit at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
White Rose
White Rose
#56 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#19 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#67 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#31 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadfoot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadfoot Guest House

Property: Meadfoot Guest House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadfoot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meadfoot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadfoot Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing