We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and informative way to see and learn about the Lakes”

Mountain Goat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.24*
and up
The Winter Ten Lakes Spectacular Tour: Lake District Tour from Windermere in...
More Info
$40.24*
and up
Winter Southern Highlights
More Info
$88.31*
and up
Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere
Ranked #3 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 40 years experience of the Lake District, the Mountain Goat is nationally and internationally recognised by many coach and tour operators as their first and foremost Lake District tour specialist. From Holidays and Short Breaks to half-day and full-day guided mini-coach tours; this is the ideal way to explore the spectacular scenery of the Lake District and beyond.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very good day out with Derrick our tour guide who was informative and interesting and for whom nothing was too much trouble. "The High Adventure Tour" takes in some spectacular scenery with opportunities to get out and take photos. The trip was varied with a train ride and a visit to Muncaster Castle and grounds. The bus was comfortable although the only downside for us was not being able to sit together as the bus had a number of single seats and we were the last pickup. We would definitely recommend this as a way of seeing and learning about the Lakes.

Thank Pippa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGoatTours, Business Development at Mountain Goat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Pippa F

Thank you for your review about our High Adventure Tour. We will pass your kind comments onto Derrick, who will be pleased to read them. We hope you can join us again in the future to try another one of our tours.

Yours Sincerely

Mountain Goat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 860 of 995 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

In August I did two wonderful tours with Mountain Goat. One was called "Ten Lakes spectacular"
which gives an overview of a lot of the Lake District's attractions. The other one was called
"High adventure" and was really exciting. Our tour guide and driver Bob did an amazing job
steering the minibus over amazing passes and along one track roads. He was very friendly,
relaxed, funny and informative and included all the different people. We had a lot of great photo stops and enough time for lunch and coffee stops. On one of the tours Bob even served coffee, tea and biscuits after a spectacular ascent. We were quite surprised and delighted with this "Mountain Goat café".
Mountain Goat Day Tours provides a fascinating opportunity of exploring the best parts and
hidden corners of the scenic Lake District. Well worth the money and highly recommended!

1  Thank Rose960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGoatTours, Business Development at Mountain Goat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Rose960

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had the opportunity to join us on two of your days in the Lake District. We will pass your comments onto Bob.

Yours Sincerely

Mountain Goat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

They say that the best way to experience the Lakes is on foot. However for those of us that do not particularly enjoy trekking up hill and down dale, this is as good as it gets. Comfortable minibuses, knowledgeable tour guides, lots of photo opportunities and the opportunity to see places that I wouldn't have found for myself.
Highly recommended.

1  Thank IlkleySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGoatTours, Business Development at Mountain Goat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear IlkleySimon

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our tour. If you have any photos you wish to share with other customers on Facebook, Flicker or Twitter please email them to enquiries@mountain-goat.com and we will publish them.

Yours Sincerely

Mountain Goat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our first of two tours was the Ten Lakes tour. Our guide was Chris, he was very informative with a massive wealth of knowledge. I left my scarf on the bus when dropped off at the end of the day, and he brought it back, right to the hotel! Very kind man. The bus seats are comfortable and the Ten Lakes Tour is a great way to see a big chunk of the Lake District, but it was too much of a long day of driving for me and I wasn't so keen on sitting quite so long. However, the next day's High Adventure Tour was much more suitable - less distance meant more stops with a longer time period to be out and walk around - the top of the pass, breathtaking Roman ruins, Muncaster Castle, etc. The day didn't seem as long as the Ten Lakes tour. Driver Derek was also friendly, knowledgeable, interesting, and an expert driver on those steep passes! All in all a great experience with Mountain Goat and definitely worth it to learn about the Lake District and see some of England's most breathtaking views.

1  Thank KelseyJohnson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGoatTours, Business Development at Mountain Goat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear KelseyJohnson56

Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you spent two days in the Lake District with us. We will pass your positive comments onto Chris and Derek. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Mountain Goat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went on the high adventure tour C today 31st. We had Bob as our driver and he was excellent. He was really helpful and informative all the way around the trip. We covered approx 115 miles on the trip with some breathtaking sights. A lovely trip on the railway and muncaster castle. Would happily recommend this trip if you have a day spare and limited time where you would like to see as much as possible in the time you do have. Only constructive point I think there should have been one more stop between muncaster castle and Ambleside but still a great day out. Thanks again to Bob.

Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGoatTours, Business Development at Mountain Goat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Simon M

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your day with us. We will pass your comments onto our driver/guide Bob, who will be pleased to read them. To give customers value for money we aim to include as much into our tours as possible, we will take your comments into account when we next review our tours.

Yours Sincerely,

Mountain Goat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Goat Tours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mountain Goat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing