We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, Welcoming with Wonderfull touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kays Cottage

Kays Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kays Cottage
Ranked #60 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcoming with Wonderfull touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

You could'nt ask for a more warm and welcoming sight after a long journey from London on a wet Autum night.
Kay's Cottage is quaint, cosy and spotlessly clean, hosted by two luvely people who cook a fantastic breakfast and nothing is too much trouble.
There are so many little treats in your room which you would normally only get in larger and much more expensive and commercial hotels.
Kay's cottage is only minutes from the station and overlooking a park in Windermere village which was ideal for me to walk to the lake and then find a cute little coffee shop afterwards.
I think it's a small treasure in a sea of other B&B's and I would recommend a visit to find out for your self.

Room Tip: Over looking the park on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at Kays Cottage over a weekend for our one year anniversary in July. We arrived a little later than we expected and were quickly given a car parking permit for across the street which was also valid for other parking places around the Lakes should we wished to drive elsewehere. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were lovely and made to order. I would definitely recommend staying here. The room was lovely with great views, you do have to be quite fit as the stairs are narrow and steep and no lift facility. There were also little extras in the room such as shower gel etc for those things we can sometimes forget.

Room Tip: Room three I believe has one of the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

great location for winderemere village with shops, bars, and about mile and half pleasant walk to Bowness for the Lake and more shops/bars/resturant.
Great Breakfast, very friendly hosts.
We went on a cruise to Ambleside and from there to Wray castle which was disappointing but had a lovely walk along the Lake shore which seemed longer the 4 miles to catch the ferry back to Bowness.
We also went on a cruise to north of lakes to the steam train which was nice but more suitable for children. All in all we really enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was an attic room so unsuitable for elderley or disabled, was fine for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammymash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked this after we were disappointed with a pre booked hotel. On the phone they were very friendly and wonderful ensuring we knew exactly were they we're and they told us about parking. We booked in and shown to room 2. This is a triple room at the rear of the property up one flight of stairs. The room was spotless, the bathroom and shower room were gleaming from top to bottom, no dust or anything to be found which is a credit to the hard work and dedication of the owner and staff. The room has every item you could need and more with all the lovely finishing touches that make it unique and full of charm and character.
After a great nights sleep we went for breakfast. It is served in the front living room. Again, everything you could want was there and the cooked breakfast is one of the best I have eaten and piping hot when served.
They could not do enough for you and always asked if you wanted more of everything.
The service is excellent, the staff are excellent as are the rooms and food, nothing is too much trouble. We made our beds in the morning on our return a little note thanking us for doing it with a piece of Kendal mint cake, how lovely is that!!
We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. A previous review mentioned parking as a problem, well this has been resolved. You can park in the pay and display car park opposite the B&B and place a sticker on the windscreen so you get FREE parking now. Highly recommend this little GEM.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yinsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a very sweet B&B, the owner is very considerate. She prepares milk for the guests in the evening, and Beatrix potter story books in the bedroom as well as in the breakfast room, which I think is a plus of our stay there.
We stayed in the triple room, because we had three girls, but the room across us, Room 3 (one bed, fits two ppl), i think is more beautiful than ours. It is a great room for a couple to enjoy, I think. (Triple room is a little crowded, because they need to fit three beds in, I am fine with this anyway.:))
Great breakfast and service!:) You get everything you want, even beyond your expectation.:)

Room Tip: The king-size bed on the top floor, (ROOM 3, I think ) is a great choice for couple. Lovely room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night and felt very welcome. Jean is a great host and nothing is too much trouble,Room was comfortable with a lovely comfy bed. Enjoyed breakfast, dining room is very pretty. Thanks Jean and Dave for a lovely stay.
Mel and Gary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lovely room ( No 4 ) and very well equipped. The breakfast was excellent with top quality ingredients. Jean and Dave are warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Guesthouse is in an ideal location to tour the lakes. It is set in the heat of Windermere with lots of bars and restauants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#50 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#30 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#25 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#3 of 10 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kays Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kays Cottage

Property: Kays Cottage
Address: 7 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kays Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's and located in the heart of The Lake District in Windermere Village, Kays Cottage is a small, friendly, family run guest house, providing high quality bed & breakfast accommodation. We are very proud to have been awarded a 4 star rating (excellent standard throughout) by Visit Britain which we have maintained for over 12 years. Our well proportioned double, twin and family guest rooms all come fully equipped with ensuite bathrooms which have electric showers, toilets and hand wash basins, colour televisions and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kays Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kays Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing