We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wee gem”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #41 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a wee gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Lake District for a weekend & stayed at Annesdale house. So pleased that we made this choice. It is in a prime location for getting around. Garden is lovely & well cared for.
The room was spacious,light tastefully decorated to a high standard, as was the bathroom.
Everything was in the room you needed,including some excellent music CD'S.
Bed was so comfy,slept wonderfully.
And not forgetting our hosts Alena & Roger who made us so welcome & did everything they could to help us.
It is a pleasure to stay here.
And lastly not forgetting our delicious breakfast served in Alena & Roger's beautiful dinning room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOrraine701_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Roger and I are very grateful for your kind review. So nice of you to take the time and trouble. It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking.
We hope that you will come to see us again and that you will also recommend us to your family and friends.

Many thanks,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
128
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Annesdale House has never failed to please on our numerous visits. The spacious and elegant suite is a perfect place to relax in and a peaceful night's sleep is assured in the comfortable king size bed. Alena and Roger are friendly and welcoming hosts serving delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melchisedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us again and for taking the trouble to review your stay at Annesdale House. We are glad that you find our accommodation comfortable and our breakfasts to your liking. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

With many thanks and best wishes,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having just got home we had to write a review about just how good the Annesdale house was! From start to finish we was made to feel so comfortable and relaxed, and couldn't believe how welcoming our hosts were. Our room and bathroom were simply stunning and decorated to an incredibly high standard, the bed was so comfortable and the room was kitted out with everything you could need. The breakfasts were simply delightful and we could not complain about anything. A beautiful house in a beautiful location. Perfect house, perfect hosts, perfect weekend! We have every intention to return to Windermere but wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about your recent stay at Annesdale House. We are delighted that you have enjoyed yourselves and we too hope that you will return to Windermere again in the future for another stay at Annesdale.

Looking forward to your next visit and many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review.

Best wishes,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greasby
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

had a lovely romantic weekend away, very relaxing, excellent room, lovely breakfast, our hosts were only to happy to help if needed, made sure we had everything that we needed, rooms very spacious, clean, comfortable, lovely big beds, separate sitting room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thahnk you very much for taking the trouble to review Annesdale House and for your very kind and positive comments on our operation. It is very much appreciated.
We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and hope that you may return one day.

With best wishes to you both,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Managed at the last minute to get in here...Absolutely fab! Beds wonderfully comfortable, hospitality superb, and breakfast unequalled. Much better than the hotels we have stayed at in Windermere in days gone by. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and grateful for your comments. It was a great pleasure to meet you and have a chat about the life in Windermere in the past. Glad to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and we hope that you will return in the future and stay with us for a bit longer.
Roger and I wish you all the very best and exciting future with your projects in the South of England.

Many thanks and hope to see you again,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We would like to recommend all travellers to stay at Annesdale House. This is not running commercially. Instead, the host - Roger and Alena treated us as part of their family :)
We had stayed in their house for 2 nights in Mar in Applethwaite Suite (Highly recommend). The suite is absolutely clean, tidy, spacious and the whole setting will make you feel at home. There is a lovely garden in front of the living room. In sunny day, sun will shine into the room and it is really a place that you would like to make it as your own. Railway station and the big supermarket, Booth, are just a few minutes walking distance to the house. Very convenience. We love the breakfast. Both Roger and Alena are excellent cook. They love to talk with travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review and we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay at Annesdale House. We love interesting people coming to stay with us and it is a great joy to learn about other people's customs and culture.
Please, come to stay again one day and recommend us to your firends and family.
Many thanks and happy travelling,

Regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Annesdale is a beautiful house in a great location. The owners are incredibly kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in the Applethwaite room which has a large sitting room leading out onto a sunny terrace. The breakfasts are excellent, home cooked to a very high standard. We will not stay anywhere else in the lake district now that we have been here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhzphuhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It is very kind of you to comment on your stay at Annesdale House and give us such glowing review.
We are delighted that you have felt at home here and enjoyed the service we provide here. We believe that you may be visiting the Lake District again during the summer and if you decide to stay with us again, please let us know as soon as you know the dates as we get booked up very quickly.
It was a realy pleasure looking after you and we wish you all the best in the future.

Kind regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#49 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Property: Annesdale House
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing