We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike Any Other!”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #37 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unlike Any Other!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I booked this guest house to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. I booked about a week before our travel dates. I chose this guest house due to the excellent reviews on Booking.com. We were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable with private patio entrance in fabulous surroundings. The bathroom surpassed any bathroom we have ever had in all our trips to the Lake District and Cumbria. It was superb. The hosts were very pleasant. Being able to have breakfast in your room was a lovely feature! I liked Windermere and the shops, bars and restaurants were only around the corner from the guest house. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyNeil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of Annesdale House. We are delighted that you felt welcome and comfortable. It is so helpful to get some feed back as we ourselves do not stay in the suites, so have actually no first hand experience. We rely on clients telling us what is right and where we can make improvements.
We are looking forward to your next visit at some time in the future and Happy 14th Wedding Anniversary. Many more to come, no doubt.

Regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was the perfect blend of modern conveniences and homely comfort. Beautifully appointed rooms, lovely garden and very welcoming hosts. We would have no hesitation in recommending annesdale house as a great place to stay. If we were ever to visit Windermere again, we would undoubtably return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for finding the time and making the effort to write to Tripadevisor on our behalf. We do appreciate it and your kind comments about your stay here.
We hope you will visit us again in the future and that you tell your friends about us. Personal
recommendations are the best advert.

Best wishes and many thanks,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is a very short walk into Windermere and Bowness is also just a 15 minute stroll away. The breakfast was very nice and our room was fantastic. The gardens are beautiful and there is a friendly and relaxed ambiance to this place. The proprietors should be congratulated. Janice and Tony

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at Annesdale House. All gratefully received and appreciated.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will return one day.
Best wishes to you both,

Kind regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just spent two wonderful nights at Annesdale House and were looked after by two lovely people, the owners Alena and Roger who made sure that we were well looked after. Our room also included a living room with a door leading out onto a area where we could sit and enjoy the surroundings of a beautifully maintained garden. Hospitality is second to none and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The breakfast was very tasty and plentifull and we could have had it served in our room but declined and sat in a wonderful breakfast room. This is the first time we have stayed at this B & B but it wont be the last.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
So glad to read that you have found Annesdale House comfortable and that you were well looked after. It seems that our life long experience in the hotel and restaurant industry taught us well what people really want when they go away. We are pleased that we've got it right.

Thank you for writing about us. It is appreciated. And do come again and tell your friends to come too.

Best wishes to you both,
Regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a beautiful room with a living room, big windows to a stunning garden and they brought us breakfast to the room every morning. Everything is well decorated and clean.
They are a very friendly couple named Alena and Roger and they made us feel welcome, unlike every other hotel where you feel like a pawn.
Plus, they were great with us being vegan and adapted their breakfast.
If we ever come back to Windermere, we're definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to report on Annesdale House and give us such an excellent review. It is greatly appreciated as our area is full of Bed& Breakfast establishments and it is difficult for potential guests to find the right place to suit their needs.
We always look at Tryipadvisor reviews of places when we travel ourselves and find other guests experience so useful in trying to make a choice.
Thank you and we hope that you will come to stay again one day.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I booked 3x nights at Annesdale after reading the excellent reviews on Trip-advisor and was not disappointed. There are only two suites at Annesdale and we stayed in "Elleray", the only difference being it doesnt have its own lounge. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Alena & Roger and shown to the suite. The suite comprises of a huge bathroom and bedroom separated by a hallway which are all decorated to a high standard both with under floor hearing! Up a couple of steps from the room to the french doors leads you on to your own private patio with beautiful mature gardens. We were given the keys to these doors which enabled us to come and go as we pleased during our stay, a real bonus ensuring complete privacy. The attention to detail throughout our stay was excellent for example fresh roses in the room, homemade shortbread and your own fridge with a jug of fresh milk! You can choose to have breakfast in your room, on your patio or in the dining room all further plus points of why we chose here in the first instance. Unfortunately for us this terrible July weather meant we couldn't make use of the patio and so took breakfast in the dining room. There is a wide selection to choose from and all served on wedge wood!! The Annesdale is situated perfectly for exploring Windermere and surrounding places with the bus stop just over the road if you don't wish to use your car.
Despite the weather we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the near future. Having previously stayed in Windermere at various establishments we can not recommend Annesdale highly enough - Thankyou Roger & Alena for ensuring a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhams27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We were so pleased to read that you have found Annesdale House a perfect place to stay and that you will come back again.
Peace & quiet, privacy and comfort that is what we like ourselves and we try to provide the same for our guests.
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about us and delighted that we are achieving our aim. Looking forward to your next visit and best wishes to you both,

Kind regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have just come back from Annesdale house after staying 2 nights for our honeymoon! What a beautiful place, we will be returning again ! The service was next to none, breakfast in our room for both mornings with the stunning view of the garden! Just a lovely place and very private too, with your own access through the garden to and from your room. we are so happy to have found this place..we even received a wedding card of Roger and Alena...you won't get that anywhere else! Thanks for letting us stay in your lovely home.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammystatham2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Terrific review. Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write. We do appreciate it. It is nice to know that guests like what we are trying to do at Annesdale House. The tiny size of our operation allow us to be just what we like ourselves: ' Personal, private and quiet', yet with all amenities at hand.
Roger and I wish you a very happy and long future together and hope that you will come and stay again one day.
Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#95 of 108 in Windermere
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 108 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Property: Annesdale House
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing