We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Italian”
Review of Giotto

Giotto
Ranked #26 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Italian”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

You can have a simple pizza or a more expensive meal as a fillet steak and lovely wine fab small menu and realy nice atmosphere

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    156
    60
    37
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italy comes to Windermere”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have eaten here during both our trips to Windermere and have not been disappointed!!!

The staff are welcoming and approachable.

The food was delicious and you could tell it had all been freshly prepared and cooked.

I will definitely be going back to Giotto next time we are in Windermere!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Perfect evening with friends”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We were shown to our table and left to chat for a few miniutes! The owner of the restaurant (gio) came over and introduced himself! We felt totally at ease! We had a table of five and all went for the seafood starter which was on the specials board, we then had either steak with a cheese sauce or steak and mushroom medallions with fresh veg and potato rossti! All the food was perfectly cooked and the flavours were excellent! We asked for some advice on the wine and ended up with a beautiful 2003 red wine! To finish we had tiramisu, which was the best any of us had ever tasted! A perfect evening never feeling rushed and the food and service couldn't have been better,
Looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mozzaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Were we in the Way?”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We love Italian food and wanted to visit this establishment for our Anniversary which occured whilst we were in the area. I called ahead to book and explained it was a celebration and that I we were looking to make an evening of our visit. From the moment we arrived it seemed obvious that they were keen to get bums on and off seats as quickly as possible. The food was fair but the prices high for what there was. Maybe we caught them on an off day but this was the only low point of our trip to the Lakes. Customers are hard to come by at the moment and should be made to feel welcome rather than rushed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Anth0nyS727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our second time, as good as the first”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We first went to Giotto last summer and sat outside, so an autumn trip was always going it be different. It's lovely inside with a view of the wood fired oven, comfortable chairs and great service. We had a selection which ranged from pizza, to calamari, to fillet steak in Marsala sauce and it was all very very good. The ice creams are especially good if you have space!

Helpful?
Thank Fan-of-great-places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing