We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Were we in the Way?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Giotto

Giotto
Ranked #30 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Were we in the Way?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We love Italian food and wanted to visit this establishment for our Anniversary which occured whilst we were in the area. I called ahead to book and explained it was a celebration and that I we were looking to make an evening of our visit. From the moment we arrived it seemed obvious that they were keen to get bums on and off seats as quickly as possible. The food was fair but the prices high for what there was. Maybe we caught them on an off day but this was the only low point of our trip to the Lakes. Customers are hard to come by at the moment and should be made to feel welcome rather than rushed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Anth0nyS727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    153
    60
    36
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our second time, as good as the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We first went to Giotto last summer and sat outside, so an autumn trip was always going it be different. It's lovely inside with a view of the wood fired oven, comfortable chairs and great service. We had a selection which ranged from pizza, to calamari, to fillet steak in Marsala sauce and it was all very very good. The ice creams are especially good if you have space!

Helpful?
Thank Fan-of-great-places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a great find! I had a Giotto pizza, with goats cheese, sun dried tomatoes and pine nuts, delicious! My husband had pizza with spicy pepperoni, fresh chilli and peppers, he states it is the best pizza he has ever eaten, the house Red was very nice too. We could not fit a dessert in but they looked impressive. The service was fast and friendly

Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having read the brilliant reviews of good pizza myself and my hubby decided to try it out wish we never bothered and spent our £52.00 elsewhere, ordered a mozzarella garlic bread starter think chef forgot to put garlic on told waitress who then brought over a bowl with oil and chopped garlic! At this point was regretting ordering pizza for main,main arrived and best description is bland,sloppy waste of £12 I had veg pizza,veg obviously from a jar preserved in oil as thick layer of oil laid on top of pizza,hubby had ham & mushroom with few extra toppings pizza was oozing water making it sloppy and was undercooked and no flavour of supposed wood smoked pizza oven, we also had fries but at £3.95 so not worth it, was brought a dessert menu over then waitress came over and offered no conversation but asked what do you want for dessert! Needless to say we didn't bother best thing about meal was the house white wine which was ok. My advice give it a miss far nicer places to eat in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A bit pricey but good. The service was good but our questions regarding some cheeses, that we from down under we're not familiar with, were handled with arrogance that we had to ask - rather than informing us of the flavour or source

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing