We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great little place”
Review of The Elephant and Camel - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Elephant and Camel
Description: LA23 2JJ Used to be the Purple Chilli Internet Cafe
Restaurant details
Description: LA23 2JJ Used to be the Purple Chilli Internet Cafe
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still a great little place”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Having spent some time trying to park on Bank Holiday Monday we realised we were close to this cafe and decided to try it again.

Coffee good and flapjacks moist and moreish. Sat in the sunshine and watched other poor souls queuing to get into Bowness. Quirky place but friendly welcome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky cafe - lovely food!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We chose to have our lunch at the Elephant and Camel as it is vegetarian and it looked interesting and quirky from the outside and it was on the inside too! Very small and personal, lots of bits and pieces to capture your interest around the cafe. It is run by the owner and as she said 'it is her baby'. The food was lovely, we had spinach and gruyere tart followed by carrot cake with moroccan tea. I loved the personal touch and service, the owner was very friendly and gave us advice on places to visit around Windermere. It was a lovely welcome on our first day visiting Windermere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rups41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes and good coffee.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a cafe with a friendly atmosphere situated in a quiet location on the Windermere road just above the shops. The fayre is varied but the home made cake was delicious and the coffee excellent. Think this is one of the best cafes in England.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's Ok”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

my partner and i liked that this was a fairtrade cafe and if your a vegetarian then this cafe may appeal more than it did for us.

We ordered carrot cake and caramel shortcake and were a little disappointeed with them, The carrot cake was hard from being in the fridge and a little stoggy, the caramel on the shortcake was almost toffee and i little too sweet. The sparkling cordials were however very tasty and refreshing and i would recommend these. We did not order hot drinks so cant comment on these.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontysGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A funky little cafe thats well worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My partner and I had walked past this place a few time and decided to go in on a Sunday for a light lunch.

The restaurant is light and airy with a simple and imaginative vegetarian menu. Although it could be set out clearer. I would recommend the delicious home-made hummus in ciabatta washed down with a cup of lovely home-made chai tea.

The owner is very friendly, spending time with all the customers and getting to know them. Its touches like this that make you remember a place.

There are also computers available for the internet as well as free wifi access.

The cafe is a must visit for anyone in the region and I will certainly be visiting again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant and Camel also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing