We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 night stay in a caravan in the Lakes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 night stay in a caravan in the Lakes”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fantastic holiday on a superb site - clean, tidy and well laid out with lovely plants & trees on the shore of Lake Windermere. The 2 bed room caravan was very clean and warm and well equipped. The site has so many facilities including a pub and pool. The friendly staff Daniel,Louise,Dorota,Gavin, Zoe, Darren to name a few, are fantastic and so helpful. Service is 2nd to none.

Room Tip: This site is also dog friendly and we had one of their doggie caravans. The lodges are brilliant val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48PaulS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park as it is so nice to hear such kind words about our park. At White Cross Bay we strive to offer a high standard of accommodation and grounds to our guests and thank you for letting us know that you found this to be clean and warm and well equipped. We like to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and welcomed whilst staying with us, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects. We do cater for all guests including dogs and happy to read that yours was able to join you for a holiday of its own.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I will ensure they get to read them as this is always nice to hear, and it is nice to know that we are able to help make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to see us all soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    350
    141
    66
    51
See reviews for
760
221
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here and having booked for £ 219 for a full week, but my husband and myself had a great week in a superior caravan. Everything was beyond our expectation: the condition and cleanliness of the caravan( even a second toilet), the grounds were well maintained with lots of flower beds, the pool was great, good temp, the food in the bar was delicious, the staff was very friendly. The free WiFi was a bit a hit and miss, but not really a problem on a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shonagh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our park. I am glad that you decided to come and stay with us despite reading previous reviews and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Here at White Cross Bay we strive to provide a high standard of holiday experience for our guests and I am pleased to hear that your accommodation was at that high standard and that it exceeded your expectations. I will pass your comments on to the staff, they will be pleased to hear your kind words.

We do offer the wifi service on park and I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with it during your stay. Due to the large volume of guests on park and our location, at times the wifi can be hit and miss due to high usage levels but we certainly look it to this.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our park and we look forward to welcoming you back to White Cross Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Arrived Monday PM... to a fantastic lodge, we had no faults.
In a beautiful location and easy access around the site... only a couple of let downs, parking and shop, isn't really a shop - just random items on some shelves BUT the spar shop at the nearby BP garage is useful!
Pub was brill and quick on cooking of the takeaway food... helpful staff on reception.
Wifi was helpful and having NO signal, well shut's you off from the crazy/stressful world!!
Very recommended to anyone...
There was a swimming pool, gym, restaurant and outdoor area for kids... but did not need to visit these!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deany39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park following your stay with your family. At White Cross Bay we strive to offer a high standard of accommodation to our guests and I am pleased that you were happy with the lodge and that it was faultless.

We are very fortunate to be situated in a National Park location that offers our guests easy reach of the local towns and attractions. I will pass your comments on to the staff, they will be pleased to here your kind words. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience of our onsite shop facilities,

As we do have a small shop area we try to stock essentials only, everyday items that people will find useful to have available to them on park and would suggest if you visit again that you do a bigger shop prior to arrival however I am glad that you were able to find what we didn't have just down the road.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the bar and takeaway facility and that you enjoyed your time in our bar. The phone networks due to the location we are in are very hit and miss however as you say it is nice as you can relax and shut yourself off whilst you are on holiday. Thank you once again for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

They have tried and succeeded in cramming as many caravans and lodges into a small a space as possible. The parking space outside the lodge was very confined with barely enough space to open the car doors. Be prepared to have no contact with the outside world, the free wifi can be compared to dial up internet. There is no signal on 3 network or o2 and vodafone was very weak.
All that said, the site is very well placed and is within walking distance of Ambleside and Windermere and is very clean and tidy.
The lodge we stayed in was well furnished and very comfortable and was an excellent base for a 4 day break in the lake district

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marzeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of our park. We are very lucky at White Cross Bay to be located in the beautiful Lake District National Park and are close to local towns and attractions. As we are located in such an area there is a lack of mobile phone service which is beyond our control. If you are on Vodafone then you able to get signal on the park as this is the only successful network. We do offer the wifi service on park and I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with it during your stay and I will look into the problems you experienced so thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Due to the location and large volume of guests on park, at times the Wi-Fi can be hit and miss due to high usage levels but we will certainly look it to this. At White Cross Bay we strive to offer a high standard of accommodation and grounds to our guests and thank you for the acknowledgment of this and we look forward to seeing you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely weekend at White Cross Bay. When we arrived the man at reception was very helpful and gave us a pack with our key for the lodge. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the lodge and the location was great. You can walk into Ambleside in 40mins. We went to a few nice pubs which serve nice food ,they also have football on if the other half wants to watch an important match!! There is also a great walk up Wansfall Pike. If you park in the car park opposite Hayes Garden world it's £5 for parking which gives enough time to complete the walk.
We would definately stay at this site again, it was a very nice weekend away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HB-003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your weekend stay with us here at White Cross Bay. I was pleased to read that you found your lodge to be clean, we strive to offer a high standard of accommodation to our guests and thank you for the letting us know that you were impressed on arrival.

We are lucky to be situated in a location that offers our guests easy reach of the local amenities, and I am happy to hear that you explored the beautiful towns and surrounding walks nearby, as well as using the facilities we have to offer here on park. I will pass your kind words on to the staff on Reception, I am sure they will be very happy to hear that they are adding to our guests experience of White Cross Bay in a positive way.

It always nice to hear our staff have been of excellent assistance to guests and We look forward to welcoming you both back to see us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just enjoyed 4 nights stay at White Cross bay and we hope to return again soon.
The park is clean and tidy, peaceful, plenty of wildlife (we saw a deer), trees and greenery. Set in a wonderful location overlooking lake Windermere and the mountains from the small marina. The caravan was warm, modern, very clean, comfortable, fully equiped, with plenty of fresh towels and bedding, we had a good sized parking space next to the caravan. The staff were helpful, polite, friendly and very efficient. We decided to be environmentally friendly and use the local buses instead of our car during our stay. Various buses stop outside the park and a 'rover ticket' was good value at £7 for the day travelling around central cumbria. So we had a scenic bus ride up to Grasmere to see the beautiful daffodils and sample the famous gingerbread and then a lovely trip over to Coniston. A short walk down the road is Brockhole visitor centre, where the lake steamers stop at the jetty for boat trips around lake Windermere, stopping at Ambleside, Bowness and Lakeside. We really enjoyed our holiday and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annej7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of White Cross Bay it was great to read your comments. We are very fortunate to situated in a National Park location with a variety of wildlife all year round and that offers our guests easy reach of the local towns and attractions. At White Cross Bay we strive to offer a high standard of accommodation and grounds to our guests and thank you for the acknowledgment of this as I am pleased that you found your accommodation clean, comfortable and well equipped on arrival. We are fortunate to have many public transport options that run regularly everyday and are right on our doorstep and so it is nice to hear that you took advantage of the various attractions of the Lake District and enjoyed your time sightseeing. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to see us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

In a good spot access to bow ness Windermere and Ambleside. Good wildlife in park cosy clean lodge. Esk pike lodge was on the top of the bank with no one overlooking which was nice for evenings in the hot tub.
Pub was reasonably priced and site was easy to find

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our park. We are very fortunate to situated in a National Park location with a variety of wildlife all year round and that offers our guests easy reach of the local towns and attractions.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the use of our bar facilities and what it has to offer. I am also glad that your privately rented accommodation suited your needs and that you made full use of the wonderful added extras that added that special touch to your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cross Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cross Bay Holiday Park

Property: White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — White Cross Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere in one of the most idyllic and scenic locations in the very heart of the Lake District. White Cross Bay is set within picturesque woodland, and with red deer and rabbits as local residents, a break here is sure to take you back to nature. There’s something for everyone, whether you’re looking for a quiet break or active escape. Enjoy the indoor pool, gym, spa pool, sauna and steam room to feel totally rejuvenated. For the more adventurous there’s an abundance of local walking tracks with stunning views of the Lake District or try the Treetop trek in Brockhole National Park. White Cross Bay is located between Ambleside and Windermere so there is a wide variety of pubs, cafes, restaurants. Popular eateries in the local area are Pedros, The Flying Pig, The Drunken Duck, The Albert, Zefferellis and The Wild Boar that has a very special reputation locally and nationally for its quality of food and drink experience and White Cross Bay even have their own marina on Lake Windermere with boat launching facilities – a walk along the boardwalk to see the boats and ducks is a must! The perfect way to finish your day is with a homemade meal and drink in the restaurant and bar on site. Why not take advantage of our holiday childcare facility for children aged 2 - 8yrs, and enjoy a few hours to yourself? Simply call the park to book on a session. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Cross Bay Leisure Park & Marina Hotel Windermere
White Cross Bay Leisure Park And Marina
White Cross Bay Holiday Park Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing