We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech House Guest House
Ranked #72 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stay at Beech House was our first experience of a guest house. We were a little worried of how our host will be and will it be a comfortable stay or not. Beech House was just more than what we expected for the price we paid. Its located near to train and bus station, and at a walking distance to the Windermere lake. The owners were very friendly and cordial. Our room was tiny but comfortable enough and it really gave the feel of staying in a country side house. The breakfast served was delicious and very filling.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunShil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here with another couple over the bank holiday weekend. Both our rooms were clean and very presentable. The rooms are a little on the small side but cosy with everything working. The shower had a strong flow, at busy times temperature variable but then you might get up a little earlier to have constant hot temperature. Breakfast is outstanding with a great choice!. The couple who run this B & B were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discotrevor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just two words about our stay there in August 2011. it was raining and cold outside, the same temperature inside.
Room was very dirty, bed linen had awful smell, and the lady who keeps the bed and breakfast has such an attitude, you would imagine she runs the best hotel in town.
We had no choice than stay there because all other hotels in town were full. Now we understand why this one had vacancies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We (2 females aged 30) stayed at Beech House last week for 3 nights and i can't recommend it enough. The B&B was a few minutes' walk from Windermere train station on a quiet road with several other B&Bs. It was close to the main shopping street in Windermere and a 30 minute stroll to Bowness. We found Windermere itself too quiet for us but Bowness was livlier so it was really helpful that Maureen pointed out the straightforward route to Bowness when we first arrived.
Our twin room was small but clean and the shower worked just fine. Beds were comfy and we both had good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent! There were 5 choices and between us we tried 4 of them and they were all lovely (was nice to have an english breakfast without the greasiness!). The only thing that I would have preferred would have been if we could have had breakfast a bit later (you have to be in the breakfast room by 9am Mon-Sat and 9:15 Sunday).
Overall I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smileykate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this B&B. The lady was welcoming and helpful with ideas for visiting the area. I found that the place was quiet and the bed comfy. Breakfast was a selection of 5 different options. The 3 I tried were fantastic. There was a short window for breakfast but that did make me get up earlier and out to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Beech House was easy to find as its just off the road that goes down into Bowness from the A591. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely owners who offered information on the area before showing us to our room. We had booked the family room which is at the top of the property up two flights of stairs, the second flight being quite steep. The room was not very modern but it was by no means oldy-worldy, and consisted of a double bed, two singles, two T.V.'s. and various drawers and wardrobes. It was very cosy and extremely clean and well presented. The room was en -suite with toilet, sink and shower. The shower was a bit cramped but I am 6'2" and 16 stone, and the family had no problem with it.

Breakfasts are selected the evening before using a slip that you leave in the hallway. You have a selection of Fried, Continental, Healthy, and the usual cereals, toasts, jams etc to choose from. And always served with a smile.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and if a B&B is what your looking for, I would recommend Beech House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtabliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#19 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#9 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#46 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Guest House

Property: Beech House Guest House
Address: 11 Woodland Road, Windermere LA23 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beech House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing