We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend away with friends”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends, for a night away in windermere. Windermere manor hotel was a great find as allowed one night stays and was very affordable for bed and breakfast, good location for Windermere / Bowness and only 15 minutes to Ambleside so very handy. Hotel is quite 'old-worldly' and has a lot of charm, a little old fashioned, but very comfortable. Outdoor area is stunning with great views! Rooms were spacious, comfortable and had all amenities, although a little too warm would be our only negative comment. We were there for a friends pre wedding celebration and although we were not the normal clientele, they made us so welcome and gave us us our own bar area to host a little party! Staff were wonderful and friendly and couldn't have done anything more for our hotel......would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which was very spacious! Really lovely quiet hotel so any room would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    195
    88
    45
    20
See reviews for
89
362
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a whistle stop tour around the lakes. Everyone there was very polite professional and most helpful. I hadn't realised that it was a 'Vision Hotel' when I booked but was especially impressed by the way that they helped the sight impaired guests and all the adaptations that they had to assist.
I can see that there were comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. I didn’t find it a problem we had room 20 and so had to use the main staircase and didn’t notice any dog hairs etc. I have certainly stayed in other hotels where the carpets have been worse, and paid a lot more for the privilege.
This is a hotel I would recommend to friends and would stay there again.
The grounds were well maintained and would be lovely to sit out in on a good day.
I asked at reception if there was any information on the hotel and was given a fact sheet. If you go have a read it’s interesting. Especially the bit about the ghosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed overnight here and the staff were so helpful and friendly, not just to us but all their guests. We stayed in what is referred dot as the annexe but is a cottage I the grounds with approx 6 separate bedrooms. We had a ground floor room which had a small patio area right outside the French windows. Pity the weather was so appalling otherwise it would have been fantastic to sit out there. We lay in bed watching the rabbits and birds right outside our window.
The breakfast was excellent - a real cocked breakfast, everything piping hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in the annexe, just like being at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Windermere Manor hotel and I have to say, it was wonderful. Right from the get-go, the staff were all so friendly and welcoming; everyone from reception to cleaning staff to waiter/bar staff (one of which could be classed as the entertainment!). Food was scrumptious with local produce and fresh seasonal vegetables and we had a lovely stroll in the gardens and played giant chess to boot! Room was impeccably clean and our balcony outside room number 17 was right by the trees and overlooked the garden. We also benefitted from a four-poster bed which was extremely comfortable with lovely plump pillows and a lightweight duvet. We had a lovely night's sleep. The pool was lovely, clean and opened early especially for us by a male member of staff who happened to see us wandering about with our towels under our arms! The changing area was open plan but there were toilet cubicles if you wanted to change in private. It was just the right size/depth and not too much chlorine which makes my eyes sting. The sauna was also lovely and clean and was also switched on early for us. The one thing I was surprised by was the way that the hotel caters for the blind using Braille and raised maps to assist. This really impressed me, as did one member of staff sitting with a blind man at dinner and reading the menu out for him as he must have been travelling alone. Guide dogs therefore are obviously allowed but the hotel also allows well behaved pet dogs too which is a real bonus (we even found doggie drinking bowls in our wardrobe!). The only possible thing I could mention is that the window lever in the bathroom was broken and so we could not open the window but we never mentioned this as we did not need to. All in all, I want to return and for a much longer break. Right on the lake; excellent location. Well done to the staff.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for balcony views and four poster bed. Our room (17) was right by the trees which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Whilst I could not fault the hotel itself, the swimming pool is filthy. The changing rooms are tiny,dated and dirty and so is the surrounding area of the pool. I was also nervous to see the pool attendant putting stuff (chemicals?)into the pool when there were still children around the pool getting changed. The changing rooms were also too small to accommodate the number of people getting changed and so a number of us had to get dressed using benches dotted around the side of the pool. Not great when the male member of staff was also wandering around.
I haven't actually stayed in the hotel but the pool would be enough to put me off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyk282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at windlermere Hotel, who made us feel very welcome and were very helpful.
The Hotel is full of charm and the room we stayed in was very spacus.
The bath room had a bath that you could lie flat in and was deep, a great why to relax after spending the days walking in this beatuiful part of the country.
Food was great too.

Room Tip: Room 34 has a bath to die for and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We both had an enjoyable stay at this hotel along with our guide dogs. The staff are both courtious and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and there is plenty of it. We have stayed here on several ocasions and would not want to change to any other Hotel in the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
767 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Property: Windermere Manor Hotel
Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing