We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent facilities for dogs, including night time toilet areas, groom room and towels provided. Extremely friendly staff and free wifi. Food is of basic standard. This hotel is part of the vision group and caters for blind and partially sighted visitors and their guide dogs

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a superior corner room as they are a little larger, plus request q room...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy16250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Windermere Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 592 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Not very welcoming hotel. Slightly dated, but clean and warm. Staff quite brisk and rushed. Room clean and basic. Very noisy at night with very loud tv/radio from nearby rooms, plus very annoying barking dogs. Felt the groups of partially sighted guests, also staying, got preferential treatment. Booked dinner when a friend came to join us, but we were told the sweets were limited and by the time we were asked to order our meal there was only one sweet left from the limited selection, but we could have had ice cream I guess. Meal was a bit basic although my husband had the steak option which was obviously the best bet. We won't be coming again I am afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPierce186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed recently at the Windermere manor. Chose the 4 poster bed room which was light and airy. The evening meal was excellent value and the breakfast was plentiful. Particularly like the fact we were served everything at breakfast [no self service]. The staff were very friendly and willing to help. It is a vision hotel catering for the visially impaired and also dog owners. We never heard one bark. Dogs had there own beds/bowls and dog towels provided. We are not dog owners but would certainly return. Hotel handy for nearby attractions and walks.

Room Tip: Four poster was a brilliant size with two easy chairs plus sofa and balcony. Also in a quiet locati...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandgirlCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

as we take our dog on all our breaks away i always try and research all cottage and hotels beforehand to ensure that all three of us will be made welcome and be able to enjoy our break without having to worry as i appreciate that not all people like dogs. i have stayed in many pet friendly hotels but this was far the best. my interest in guide dogs for the blind also drew me to this hotel . our room in the cottage was lovely exactly what i look for accomodation outside of the hotel easy to walk the dog and not to worry if he should make a noise.a fridge in there which is a brilliant idea . the food and staff were brilliant . the surrounding area is excellent for walking and i would not hesitate to visit again.. echo previous comments about swimming pool day i visited i was aware of children in the pool receiving lessons which was no problem for me but i was unsure whether i was able to use the pool and was ignored by the member of staff there so this put me off . perhaps they could put up notice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustangsuzy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife had booked us into this accommodation for the night as a birthday treat. We arrived mid afternoon and booked in quite quickly although in a friendly manner. Our first impression was pleasing up to this point.
We made our way to our room to find a clean, spacious room with
what I would call an a American size king size bed which would prove to be a very comfortable nights sleep.We were only booked in on a bed and breakfast basis but due to the weather we decided to dine in the hotel that evening and we were pleasantly surprised by the menu the overall the restaurant staff were excellent,with the exception of one waiter whom I wouldn't say was rude but rather at times over familiar but nonetheless efficient. The next morning we sat for breakfast in the "conservatory"to be greeted with a glorious view across Lake Windermere over towards Bowness.
Both my wife and myself were so impressed with this hotel we would not have any problem in booking a weekend here again, none at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012stevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we stayed 2 nights on a half board basis booked through KGB 25-27 feb 2013. Excellent value. Staff very friendly and helpful Our waiter Ben/Tony was a really great guy full of fun and made our stay enjoyable The meals were excellent Great choice and portions were plenty. The room we stayed in didnt have a great view but was a lovely room Clean, plenty of storage space, Beds really comfortable. Plenty of hot water and clean towels. The view point opposite the hotel was spectacular Excellent views of the lake Windermere. Gardens and grounds of the hotel were tranquil and clean and tidy I cant fault this hotel at all its been a great break and definately would stay again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell1966_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have stayed there twice. Once on a bed and breakfast basis, once on half board, and really enjoyed both stays. Lovely room with great views, and the food was hot and delicious. Will go again! Lovely views over the lake, and the staff were excellent

Room Tip: ask for one with lake view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaF008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
783 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: $128 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing