We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have stayed there twice. Once on a bed and breakfast basis, once on half board, and really enjoyed both stays. Lovely room with great views, and the food was hot and delicious. Will go again! Lovely views over the lake, and the staff were excellent

Room Tip: ask for one with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaF008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 607 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here on business as i had exhibiting at a trade Show in the Lakes and found the Hotel to be very charming-It was typical Lake District style and the bedrooms were spacious and extremely clean.
The receptionist who was South Africian was a lovely helpful girl and the Bar man (a young man) who I thought made the experience much more enjoyable with his comic personality
The restaurant food was lovely and the service was with a friendly smile- I had the curry and it was great.The breakfast was lovely too and piping hot.
I was very surprised to see the Hotel catered for so many blind people and their Guide dogs which I thought was really nice and all the dogs as you would imagine were very well behaved .the staff went the extra mile to tell the blind people where their toast was on the table and I thought this was really appreciated.I would recommend this Hotel more to an elderly clientel but i really enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: If you cant manage stairs ask for down stairs rooms -i was in room 3 and it was a twin but very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stirlingwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stay last week booked through KGB and it was excellent value for money. I really cannot recognise it as the same hotel in some of the reviews. We found it a good hotel, clean and well maintained in a superb location - just out of the town but within walking distance, and also a nice walk down to the lakeside. Our room was large with a nice bathroom and very well heated - I would rather have to turn the radiator off than freeze to death. The staff were all very friendly and the food we had, breakfast and evening meal, was very tasty. Our dog was welcome at this hotel and we were not charged an extortionate amount for her stay. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived after a three hour drive given our key to room 6 we opened the door to the terrible odour of wet dog. The carpet stained the bedding stank. We went down stairs and asked to change room and expressed our problems the receptionist told us to look at the last room they had it was just as bad so asked if they would clean the room and the bedding one hour later room ready the smell of air fresher disguised the smell well for a while. We had gone on half board basis went down for evening meal no larger on draught only bottles of lager in a sink full of ice. Food just edible we was put in conservatory for our meal with paint peeling from walls.the wooden panelled dining room we never had the pleasure to sit in. Got up early next morning to breakfast the bacon was like shoe leather staff unfriendly. We arrived back at hotel at 4 o' clock our room had not been cleaned. At 4.30 we had a knock on our door by a young man asking if we would like our room cleaned we declined as we had just arrived back to relax but asked for clean towels which never appeared. To top our anniversary weekend of we went down for breakfast on the day we were leaving we had our toast put on the table but no butter the only British person working there was so rude we asked for butter and to my disgust he went to the table across from us where a couple had just left and gave us their butter. By this time myself and my husband had had enough knife and fork put down we left. Sloppy dirty unkempt. We did complain again before we left and wrote a letter to manager. The only thing good in that hotel was the lady on reception she didnt seem shocked by our complaint. Never again would I stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sashauk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The room was large and very comfortable. The food was very good. The grounds and views make this a very attractive place to stay. Only downside for me was the limited drinks available at the bar, no draught.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we have just stayed for two nights at this hotel with family who had stayed before. thought that the room we stayed in situated at the rear of the hotel was more than adequate, giant bed ,very comfortable, bathroom was very good , walk in shower suited us rather than a bath. view restricted by trees but plenty of rabbits and wildlife to see. bit of a walk out of bowness but if you walk down the road a bit go through the wooden gate on the lake side of the road, leads down to the lake at the side of a stream and waterfall , beautiful.walk takes you almost into bowness. the hotel meals were really first class food very well cooked.all in all cannot find fault with anything about the hotel and friendly staff.had a brilliant time and would recomend it to anyone who asked me where to stay in windermere

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is lovely and I cannot complain about the room or breakfast. However I was disappointed that the pool was practically unusable on weeknights due to swimming lessons, and I would NOT recomend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_n_Nick_Cunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
827 reviews
2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: $78 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing