We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great mini break”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just got back from 2 nights in this hotel. We found it just great. The main building has great character features. The restaurant has an amazing firepace. We stayed in the annex whcih is virtually brand new with large room , power shower and was immaculately clean. The bed was extra large and comfy too being a 6' double. The hotel is very dog friendly but this does not mean it smells or is dirty in anyway. Just wish we had taken our dog with us. I found the staff extreemlt friendly and it soon became appaernt that many of the visitors were regular visitors which speaks volumes.
The location of the hotel is prefect for exploring the area, we had one night at the cinema and one at the theatre by the lakes, both of which were excellent.
The only meals we had in the hotel was the breakfast which were excellent. Nice not to have a buffet and to have plates that were very hot! One of my pet hates is luke warm plates.
The black pudding was awesome.
We got this break via a voucher off the internet and got a great deal. If I had known it was this good I would have got a second voucher for next year too.
Loved the place!

Room Tip: I would go for the annex rooms for modern facilities and extra space. Plus a massive 6' bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandychc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    194
    86
    44
    19
See reviews for
85
360
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Its brilliant that a hotel caters for the blind, but the whole place stank of dog. Pretty off putting to be honest.
Staff were okay.
Full English was not to mine or my partners liking but the kippers and haddock were lovely.
Location was good for exploring the area, and only a £4.00 taxi ride into Bowness for an evening meal.
Room was OK but we were confused by the hooks on the skirting??
The TV was rubbish.
The free WiFi was total pants.
I very much doubt I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my partner. From arriving to leaving, we weren't disappointed with anything. The standard of the staff, food, cleanliness, facilities - everything - was exceptional. There wasn't anything to be disappointed with. The staff were friendly and helpful - a rare occurence these days. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the superior room. Size, decor, standard of cleanliness - outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Grubby is one word that I would use for this hotel! Needs a huge re-vamp and a good clean!!

Room Tip: So grubby! Stains all over the carpet, bed so uncomfortable, could not wait to check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Room 33, Staff brilliant, room brand new super location. Definetly go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

You know you're hotel hasn't lived up to expectations when you are thrilled to check into a Premier inn for your last night. We were expecting a nice enough hotel for the price, but nothing luxurious.
So... The pros:
-decent breakfast
-the pool (nice and clean, warm)
- beautiful location, scenery, some nice gardens

The cons:
- hotel feels like an old people's home or hospital
- decor is so so so dated and grubby
- beds are as soft as marshmallow resulting in terrible backache
- walking distance to Bowness actually means 30 min walk each way if you are going at a pretty brisk pace
- no wifi, not even a chargeable service. I honestly haven't stayed anywhere, even a B&B, that hadn't had wifi for about 5 years. Even the budget hotel chains have it and this hotel's in an area with no 3G and little phone reception so wifi would particularly welcome.
- the bathroom, although a really good size, had zero water pressure, resulting in half hour showers whilst attempting to rinse out shampoo under a trickle of water. This was a
major bug bear.

Overall- I wish I had stayed almost anywhere else other than this characterless and charmless hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toria1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great break hotel. Lovely grounds, manicured lawns and giant chess board.
Room spaceous for the single person. Great to have controlable shower, and TV that worked.
Food excellant, and served in courteous manner. Swimming pool and gym available until about 6ish.
The manor catered specially for partial sighted and blind persons, and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. (as were the guide dogs, who were also savouring the break)
The lounge and bar were also above average, creating a fine atmosphere.
The slight down was that the advertised wifi was not available, but I lived without for a couple of days.
In closing, and excellant hotel. Clean, throughout. Excellant freindly staff. and at a reasonable cost. Note... My online price was better than direct hotel booking...... However give them a try if in the area.... You wont be disapointed.......
S Turner (Edinburgh)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SephT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Property: Windermere Manor Hotel
Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing