We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic B&B”
Review of Grey Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Walls Hotel
Ranked #80 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good basic B&B”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This B&B is good value and is right in town and close to the railway station. If you are looking for luxury this is not for you but it is clean and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was adequate (hot and cold breakfast served).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    63
    24
    25
    21
See reviews for
43
124
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed for two nights here on my own (came to revisit area as used to work in the lakes),was made to feel really welcome by the owners(dave and mandy,and their son chris),the bar staff and the locals.the food was amazing and really good value,ate in the bar and the restaurant,didnt need to eat lunch as the breakfast menu was vast,with vegetarian choices and special dietry needs.i have to say the rack of ribs i had on the saturday night was like nothing ive seen or tasted before(HUGE! and melted off the bone -yumy)and proper hand peeled homemade chunky chips(no frozen in sight).Grey walls bar is popular with the locals ,which i find is a good indicator as to how well a place is run and kept,a good selection of real ales are on offer.cant wait to go back and would reccomend to others :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed over Easter for 2 nights. The room was quite spacious with a lovely bay window. Tea coffee etc. provided in room. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPhil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed on Valentines night, parked car in private car park which is always a bonus in Windermere.
We cuddled up by the log fire all afternoon drinking fine ales and wine. The Bar staff (Alan) were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Following the recommendation of the refurbished steakhouse restaurant at the hotel Alan's personal recommendations I have to say exceeded expectations.
Room was clean and spacious and the pub area had charm and character and was nice and relaxed, with a mix of locals and residents. Dogs and muddy boots for walkers were welcomed.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thundercatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the middle of summer. We had a spacious room and we were greeted by friendly staff on arrival and shown how to get into the rooms. Space to park car. Good breakfast choice. Perfect Location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had booked to stay there for two nights. On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome, by the barstaff, and then the owner, as it turned out.
We were shown to our room, which was very clean, warm and comfortable.
We spent an enjoyable evening in the bar where we ate. I had surf and turf, and I have to say the steak was excellent. Cooked as I like it it, and very tasty. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. Food is excellent, accommodation extremely comfortable, (so comfortable we didn't make breakfast!) and the owners and staff are very friendly. Special mention to Alan behind the bar, who did everything he could to make us, and other guests, feel very welcome, Also the chef who kindly made a late night snack for us!
I will definitely be revisiting next time I am in Windermere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magicwelshwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed there for three nights with three other couples and my wife.We were made very welcome on our arrival ,our rooms were not ready,we were early,we had a drink in the bar and a lunch from a good menu,the food was well presented and great portions,the bar area could do with a revamp but it is a welcoming place with the locals who frequent it. The rooms need a slight bit of TLC but were warm and comfotable ,will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kovwirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#65 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#93 of 108 in Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 108 in Windermere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Walls Hotel

Property: Grey Walls Hotel
Address: Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Walls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Walls offers quality guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District. An ideal place to lay your head after a day's walking in the hills, relax with a drink or enjoy a hearty meal in the Greys Inn traditional pub. We have 9 ensuite rooms, individually designed, including Double, Twin, Triple & Single. Our room rates include complimentary breakfast. All our rooms are serviced daily and include: Shower, Tea and Coffee tray, TV. Room rates start from £35pppn. Great for those arriving by train or wishing to explore the surrounding areas, 2 minute walk from Windermere rail station, 15 minute walk to the lake and plenty of other walks and activities within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grey Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Walls Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing