We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B”
Review of Haisthorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haisthorpe House
Ranked #45 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This well run, comfortable and welcoming B&B provides an excellent base for a stay in Windermere. Diana accommodated our whole party with charm and good humour. Haisthorpe House is in an excellent location, not only quietly situated with plenty parking (always a bonus in The Lakes) but also near the start of some great strolls, over School Knott and on to INGS where there is a terrific pub with excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here during the May bank holiday and stayed in room 3 which has a 4 poster bed.The rooms has everything you need for a relaxing stay and has plenty of room and storage space. Car parking is available both at the front and rear of the guest house.

Breakfast was nice and they catered for my veggie wife , the only downside being the anemic toast.

Location is also good being close to the shops and restaurants in Windermere and about a 20 minute walk to Bowness (although coming back this is almost entirely uphill so beware)

Overall , a great place to stay in a really nice location , give it a try , you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a really lovely time in the Lake District, the hotel was excellent value for money. Lovely bedroom very clean and a great jaccuzzi bath. We were made to feel very welcome, we would be delighted to go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 683Craig_C683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelzate, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The B&B is in a really nice, traditional English house. The atmosphere in the house is wonderful, and gives you a sense of how life in a British family house must be like. Everything is really clean, and the room in itself has got everything you could need. The landlady is amazingly friendly and helpful, and her dog must be one of the nicest dogs ever. Finally, the breakfast in the morning was well prepared. We enjoyed our trip very much, and if we'd ever go back to windermere, we'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The double room has got a really good bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertVLBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Me & my Fiancée have just returned from a lovely, snowy walking weekend in the lake district and were very impressed with the Haisthorpe! The house is immaculately clean and in a great location to both Windermere & Bowness (15min walk).
The owner was very helpful with giving us directions and even letting us borrow a shovel to dig our car out of the snow!
The room was beautifully decorated and fully equipped with everything we needed! Our only quibble would be that the shower pressure was a little low though this really didn't matter much as it was perfectly hot after a day walking in snowy conditions!
Their full English Breakfast was lovely and it was great to have a selection of Juices, fruit and cereals too!
Very good value for money!- We shall return! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyferg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent a very enjoyable long anniversary weekend at this B&B. With a warm and friendly welcome, well appointed rooms and a hearty breakfast this proved to be the perfect base for a weekend exploring the lake district. We were grateful for Diane's local knowledge as she didn't steer us wrong when looking for good local restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMcClaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from another walking weekend in the Lake District staying at Haisthorpe House where we have been many times before and will hopefully continue to do so in the future.

As usual the rooms were clean, comfortable, and well equipped with everything we may have needed for our stay- Mrs.B appreciated the hot chocolate after a damp day in the hills! Both mornings we enjoyed a buffet of fruit, yoghurt, pastries etc and were then served a delicious cooked breakfast (the local sausage and bacon are excellent). Just what we needed to fuel ourselves for the day ahead.

We have always found Mrs Wilkinson to be welcoming and friendly, and she was quick to offer advice on areas of local interest when approached. She also has an excellent source of information leaflets and walking guides available. Haisthorpe House is a just minute from Windermere centre (handy for dinner, drinks, shopping), is within easy drive of Kendal or Ambeside etc, and has plenty of local country walks straight from the B&B doorstep.

As regular customers we can't recommend Haisthorpe House and Mrs Wilkinson highly enough, and rightly so the guest book is brimming with compliments. Thank you for another lovely weekend. M&A Blake

Room Tip: Room #1 has a jacuzzi bath- an ideal way to relax after a day walking the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blake_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#58 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#62 of 107 in Windermere
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haisthorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haisthorpe House

Property: Haisthorpe House
Address: Haisthorpe Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haisthorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haisthorpe House is situated in a secluded yet central area of Windermere in the English Lake District. It is only a few minutes walk from the village centre, local restaurants and the picturesque Lake Windermere. The Guest House is an ideal base for touring and walking holidays or for simply taking in the beautiful Cumbrian scenery.We offer a warm and friendly welcome. A relaxed atmosphere awaits you at the guest house where a high standard of hospitality and cleanliness is provided to ensure your stay at Haisthorpe House is an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haisthorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haisthorpe House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing