We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal”
Review of Francine's

Francine's
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the best restaurant in the area.

The food, the service, the wine and the overall dining experience for us was outstanding. They even remembered our anniversary which was a lovely touch and greatly appreciated.

For starters we had the scallops and the mussels. Both were outstanding. The mussels was a massive portion for a starter and the creamy wine sauce was delicious. The scallops were perfectly cooked and fantastic quality.

For mains we had the seafood casserole and the trio of pig - see the photos. Wow! The tastiest seafood casserole I’ve ever had and the pork was beautifully cooked.

The service we received was excellent. Friendly and efficient staff with excellent menu knowledge.

If you are in the area, I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to Francine’s - oh and book it as it’s busy and you won’t be seated if you walk in off the street after 8.30.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ziz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food here is delicious and the service staff are attentive and prompt in their service. We had beef daube and a fish dish.
Both are excellent. The free canapé was a nice touch. The restaurant is quite small and reservation is needed to avoid disappointment. We were lucky to get a table at 6pm when the crowds haven’t come in.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lizcyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spontaneously booked hours before they opened and straight away they got us in!! The atmosphere and vibe right away is cosy and vibrant - staff all friendly and helpful and Kristina even got a surprise Prosecco as a birthday ‘gift’ from the team. The food was beautiful and all round a lovely experience. Thank you!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank DEA1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ate here in on a Saturday evening with my boyfriend and it was lovely. Staff are happy and attentive, service was great, food was lovely and on the whole we would return. A lovely little find in the lakes, will be back and would recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

Outstanding food and service at a fair price. Complimentary canapes are a nice touch. Would 100% recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisbr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francine's also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Francine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing