We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Francine's

Francine's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blaenavon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful food! Great Service!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I would visit the Lake District again just to eat at this restaurant! We had a lovely romantic meal and weren't rushed at all! The food was all freshly cooked and tasty!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    231
    58
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb food”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

had a fabulous meal here for our wedding anniversary we got a nice little table in the corner and were never rushed and food was freshly cooked to order and was absolutely superb..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank crossley_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Lovely, quaint family run restaurant.
Relaxing atmosphere.
Excellent value for money.
Interesting & varied menu.
Catered well for dietary needs. Partner has Coeliac Disease.
Staff were helpful & informative.
Was great to be able to choose items from each course.
Would definitely recommend to family & friends.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul_KarenDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful bistro with Michelin-styled cuisine”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

All the food was gorgeous. I highly recommend this place. Definitely good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiagomateus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, good food, great value”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had dinner on a Tuesday evening at Francines. It was very busy but the service was still excellent. I had whiting as a starter that was delicious and the duck confit which was very good. My husband had the two course menu which was great value and the quality was just as good as the a la carte menu. We highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francine's also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Francine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing