We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellerdene Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
194
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhosts phildefiantly stay here againroad parkinglittle gemset us up for the daybreakfast was deliciousstayed here for three nightscomfy bedmin walkfeel very welcomewindermere train stationquiet streetlake districtsingle roomlovely hostscooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 210 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A home from home guest house with lovely owners. We were made so welcome didnt want to leave. Beautiful walks with amazing views so close to the guest house. Will be visiting again as soon as we can and will recommend to friends/family. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thanks to Cath, Rhoda and Barry for making our stay so special.
Kate & Dave (Wakefield)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely review we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay here with us, and that you have also enjoyed this lovely area thank you for recommending us to your Friends/ Family.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice, family run B & B. The hosts are very friendly and welcioming. The place is very neat and clean and the rooms have a nice and tasteful decor. Ellerdene is located in a nice, quiet area, quite close to Lake Windermere. The breakfast was also good and of good quality. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

we are pleased you and your Family enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you for your very kind comments to ourselves and our Bed and Breakfast,You are all welcome back anytime thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife, baby boy and I spend two nights at Ellerdene and had an amazing time. Upon arrival we were very warmly greeted and shown to our room. The room was spacious, immaculately clean and well decorated. It really did feel very homely. The facilities in the room were excellent and the bed was very comfortable. In addition there was plenty of free on street parking in the area.

Both mornings we enjoyed a cooked breakfast in the lovely dining room. The food was gorgeous and set us up for the day ahead. Portions were generous and the choice was very good.

The location of the guest house is ideal. Close to the town of windermere and just a short walk down to the lake at Bowness on Windermere.

Our hosts were all very friendly and attentative to our needs. Ellerdene is very family friendly and Rhoda, Catherine and Barry were all great with our 5 month old boy (Isaac). The also let us use their microwave to sterilise Isaacs bottles which we really appreciated. They really made our stay a pleasure and we will definately return.

If your really looking for a very nice place to stay seriously look no further.

Thanks guys and all the best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Well what can we say, thank you so much for a magnificent review.How lucky we are that we get such nice people to stay here @ Ellerdene. Isaac is a very well behaved Baby we didn't hear a peep from him.( he also had a beautiful smile).Glad you enjoyed your Breakfasts also and you felt you had plenty.you would certainly be welcome back here anytime.Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Once again a home away from home. Rhoda, Cath and Barry really do look after you. It's in a great location, clean and very welcoming. All little extras in the rooms including a really nice fruity shower gel! We were disappointed that we were not snowed in as we would have easily stayed an extra night and get another excellent breakfast. Thanks again guys x would definitely be looking to stay again for our third trip to the lakes. Susan and Dave (from London)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziq1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missyLakeDistrict, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

This reveiw is so nice thank you both.We do not have snow so often that lasts any length of time, but it is lovely to see that Guests can enjoy it without it spoiling their Holidays. Thanks once again and we will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved our stay at Ellerdene! We were warmly greeted on arrival and the room was lovely, comfortable, cosy, homely and had some nice little touches. The room had a kettle, fridge, heater, hairdryer and a super comfy bed! It is nice and close to the town, the train station and to the Lake. We also tried some nice restaurants nearby which were all a short walk. The breakfast was good - you fill out an order form, selecting from a brief menu of cooked food. There is also cereal and juices. A really nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay at Ellerdene with us.Your comments are very kind and we appreciate them.Yes although we are very handy for the train station and shops / restaurants etc we are also lucky to live on a Quiet street just outside of the village.If you visit England again we would love to see you .Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews