We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of Ten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellerdene Guest House
Ranked #20 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

No hassle book in, extremely friendly family owners, very clean and up to date family room with the personal touch of a teddy bear for my nine yearold grandson. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and served with a personal touch; in a friendly and yet not too pusher manner. Car parking was no problem and I would highly recommend staying there. Checked out yesterday Sat 27/10/2012. Bob Lewis Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you very much, we are glad you had a good visit and that your Grandson was happy with his teddy Bear for company.You have enjoyed your cooked Breakfast "cooked to perfection" which pleases us greatly,Glad you found everything clean and that we were Friendly without being pushy.thank you also for your "Ten out of Ten".We would love to welcome you back to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful B&B. Owners are so warm and friendly. The rooms are immaculate and clean. Breakfast was excellent. The owners all go that extra mile. We had a terrible experience at another (horrible) B&B in the area and were seeking last minute hospitality. This B&B was a godsend. Barry (the owner) was out the street to help us park and bring everything in. The place was so warm and clean. It was just perfect !

Room Tip: We had the small double room on the first floor and it was warm and cosy. Our friends had the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at another B&B in the area, but are pleased we could accommodate you and your Family/ Friends, and that you could go back home with nice memories instead of being disappointed thanks once again.We would look forward to meeting you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff (family) are top class, caring, courteous, and go that extra mile!!
The beds were comfy and warm. The room was clean.
Breakfast was first class!!, it was lovely conversing with fellow guests.
The view was lovely! (the top room) which was ideal for four or more.
We would certainly recommend this stay for anyone visiting Windermere.
We travelled from New Zealand and would happily return to Ellerdene.

Room Tip: Highest floor best for four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

so glad you found us to stay with.Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we do enjoy talking to our Guests, as yourselves, we get many long distance travelers who have great stories to tell.If you are ever over here again you would be most welcome to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Extremely welcoming and friendly, this modern guest house is centrally located for a short stroll into Windermere. A 15 minute walk will get you into Bowness or even catch the bus at the end of the road, perfect if you want to abandon the car for a day or two. The room was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean, and the breakfast was great. All in all, better than some 5* hotels at a fraction of the price, great value!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Wow!! thank you so much, glad you were happy with everything,what more is there to say except thanks Again.We look forward to another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had an excellent stay and were made very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good and set us up for the day. We would love to go back and stay for longer next time and would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation, We are pleased you had an excellent stay here at Ellerdene, and that we made you feel welcome it is nice to know people feel at home here, then we know they are happy.We would welcome you back here anytime, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed numerous times and the level of service is excellent. The owners go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome and at home.
I would recommend this property and is tremendous value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc_bento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thanks all, you have indeed been with us many times and we are pleased that each time, you have been happy with the level of service and Friendliness we provide.You are all welcome back anytime thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Drove up 2 the lakes on friday and parked outside the Ellerdene on speck and very very pleased indeed that that they had a double room for us. The place the people who run it are first class. Breakfast was spendid and you cudnt wish for a better place to stay, thank you for all you help amd hope to see you all very soon. ann and john

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments we are glad you found us to stay with and that you were pleased with your visit here.Glad you also enjoyed your Breakfast.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#27 of 107 in Windermere
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
287 reviews
0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#25 of 107 in Windermere
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#13 of 107 in Windermere
387 reviews
0 mi away
No.4 Guest House
No.4 Guest House
#55 of 107 in Windermere
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerbrook House
Ellerbrook House
#48 of 107 in Windermere
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerdene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerdene Guest House

Address: Ellerdene Guest House | 12 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellerdene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerdene Guest House, in the heart of the Lake District. Our Guest house offers clean, comfortable accommodation set within a quiet area close to the centre of Windermere village. Within easy walking distance of the train/bus station, and many of its shops, restaurants and bars. Phil & Rick would like to wish you a very warm welcome. We do welcome Families with children aged 6 and over,(No Family Rooms) Walkers,Couples,and Groups. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellerdene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerdene Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing