We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful little guest house in a superb position in one of the Nicest parts of the country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellerdene Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ellerdene Guest House
Ranked #17 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A beautiful little guest house in a superb position in one of the Nicest parts of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed numerous times and the level of service is excellent. The owners go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome and at home.
I would recommend this property and is tremendous value for money

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc_bento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks all, you have indeed been with us many times and we are pleased that each time, you have been happy with the level of service and Friendliness we provide.You are all welcome back anytime thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
84
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Drove up 2 the lakes on friday and parked outside the Ellerdene on speck and very very pleased indeed that that they had a double room for us. The place the people who run it are first class. Breakfast was spendid and you cudnt wish for a better place to stay, thank you for all you help amd hope to see you all very soon. ann and john

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are glad you found us to stay with and that you were pleased with your visit here.Glad you also enjoyed your Breakfast.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

A lovely family run guest house that we luckily found, having not booked any accomodation in advance. We were made very welcome and liked the clean contemporary interior. The room was spotlessly clean, and breakfast was first class! 10 out of 10!! What more could you ask for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Wow First class Breakfast! thank you.So glad you found us and that you were very happy with what we offer here at Ellerdene. You are most welcome to visit again if you find yourselves needing accommodation in the future,thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked a trip to Windermere a only a week before we planned to arrive. Cath was brilliant with all her quick responses booking us in and answering queries. We got the warmest welcome on a very wet and late arrival. Delicious brekky, room perfect - all a short walk from Windermere Station. I would definitely recommend this super little spot for couples, families, friends or solo! I warm welcoming place to stay. Thank you Cath, Rhoda and Barry. Leigh & Jen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, so glad you were happy with our services and friendliness, Would be great to see you again if you are ever in Windermere.( Sister Re-union maybe)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I arrived in Windermere on a drizzly day in early May. After having gotten lost (my fault) en route from the train station, Barry was kind enough to come and fetch me in the rain! Was upgraded to a double upon my arrival, a nice surprise after a long train ride from Cheltenham. I cannot say enough nice things about the owners: Rhoda, Barry and Cath, or the B&B itself. Located on a quiet street, and less than a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Ellerdene is a lovely Lake District B&B. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, and seemed genuinely interested in their guests. My room and bathroom were spotless, and breakfast was delicious and bountiful - so much choice, and everything was fresh and cooked perfectly. Plenty of hot water in the shower too, a luxury after a long day of touring the lakes! Be sure to book a stay at the Ellerdene, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the bacon and eggs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes_sister_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you ,yes we are interested in our guests it is nice to meet people from all walks of life.we are very glad you were pleased with our services and Friendship to you and would very much love to meet you again if you ever this way.thank you for your lovely comments and we are very pleased you had a pleasant time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witlshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Myself , my husband and 2 good friends had an absolute find in this lovely B&B. Thanks to trip advisor I stumbled across Ellerdene Guest House whilst trying to find some accomodation for a motorcycling weekend in the lakes.
Rhoda, Barry and Cath were just the most perfect hosts and welcomed us into their B&B with a smile. The rooms were just lovely. We were in room 4 on the first floor, which was very spacious and beautifully clean and our friends were on the ground floor in an equally lovely room.
A form needed to be filled out for breakfast the evening before so you didn't have to wait for it in the morning. It was well cooked and although I was the only one in my party that didn't have the cooked breakfast I have to say my scrambled eggs were delicious. I am reliably informed that the cooked breakfast was also superb.
This B&B is in an excellent location close to Windermere centre with lots of choice for evening meals. It is located in a very quiet road and we heard no noise at all at night.
We will definately return to this great value for money B&B and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: room 4 on the first floor has a lovely open view up the road and to the hills beyond. Ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Again what a lovely review we can't thank you enough,you have covered everything that matters in doing what we can to please,So glad you enjoyed the Scrambled Eggs, and the cooked Breakfast of course.You are all welcome back here any time.We would look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

A mere 5 minute walk from Windermere and 2 minute drive from Bowness, Ellerdene was perfect for our overnight stay to visit Lakeland Ltd. It was warm, welcoming and extremely good value, our en-suite room was lovely and the beds provided us with a very comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast room was really pleasant, light and airy, and the superb breakfast kept us going well past lunchtime. Will definitely stay again if we come back to Windermere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerdene S, Owner at Ellerdene Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay here,we are pleased you could take away pleasant memories from here and this Beautiful area that we live in. If you ever come back to windermere you would be most welcome back here at Ellerdene thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerdene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerdene Guest House

Property: Ellerdene Guest House
Address: Ellerdene Guest House | 12 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellerdene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerdene Guest House, in the heart of the Lake District. Our Guest house offers clean, comfortable accommodation set within a quiet area close to the centre of Windermere village. Within easy walking distance of the train/bus station, and many of its shops, restaurants and bars. Phil & Rick would like to wish you a very warm welcome. We do welcome Families with children aged 6 and over, Walkers,Couples,and Groups. On request we can provide a Packed Lunch for a fee. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ellerdene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerdene Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing