We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hidden gem of Windermere that is excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkwood Guest House
Ranked #23 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The hidden gem of Windermere that is excellent value for money!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, traditional, and welcoming place this is. Located 10 minutes walking distance from lake Windermere in one direction and 10 minutes walking distance to Windermere town centre the other.

We stayed during June 2013 for 2 nights. Our room was spotless. We had a four poster bed in a more than ample sized room and our en suite had a corner bath with an overhead shower.

Breakfast time was fantastic, plenty of choices from fresh fruit to cereal, toast with locally made jams or a full home cooked English breakfast. I have a gluten allergy and was catered for with various cereal, breads and gluten free sausages.

The b&b had a sitting room that all guests have access to. In here you will find Lots of information about local places to visit and things to do, including lots and lots of walking maps.

The owners of this little place, maggie and Boyd are what make this place so special. Nothing at all during our stay was too much to ask for and we were always greeted with a friendly smile.

I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and look forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katbarnes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
167
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Quietly located close to the main Windermere to Bowness, this place is ideally situated for a short walk for both places.
We had the top floor bedroom which will soon be refurbished. Richard and Paula were very welcoming. They have only recently taken on this venture and seem ideally fitted to it. Nothing was too much trouble to them. The breakfast choices were plentiful but as usual I had the full English and can readily confirm that it was lovely.
We will be going back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but room 3 has a four poster and room 2 on the ground floor is what I will be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley. Lancashire. England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

As I have been staying at this hotel for the past 17 years and have seen 3 lots of owners, I was curious to see what the new owners were like and how the B and B had fared. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the place was just as welcoming as before and the new owners the same.
The breakfast are excellent with a wide range of food, even for coeliacs.We had our usual room 3 and found it to be as before - great. Hoping to see them again,sooner rather later.

Room Tip: I have slept during my 17 years there in every room and I can say they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Richard and Paula are the most welcoming owners a guest could hope for. I am a keen photographer and hill walker! Richard (owner/ professional photographer) knew the lakes like the back of his hand and was incredibly helpful in guiding me to great landscape locations.

My stay was second to none, especially the breakfast, perfect everyday. I will definitely be going back in the years to come and wish them all the best in the future.

Nathan!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Kirkwood Guest House is a home from home. The location of the guest house is perfect, just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Windermere. The room was lovely and clean. The owners (Richard and Paula) are very welcoming and have a great knowledge of the area. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Windermere is an great place to stay and kirkwood is ideally located with roughly a 10 minute walk into the heart of Windermere or down to Bowness-on-Windermere. I recenlty stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend in room 5 which had everthing you need and a lovely four poster bed. Paula and Richard were welcoming, very friendly and also extremely helpful - they know the area very well and are happy to give advice on walks and places to visit. The breakfasts each morning were brilliant - cooked to your specifications and delicious to eat! We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to visit the Lake District and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I want to write a review to say how lovely the kirkwood is, we had a 1 night stay in rm 3. Paula was welcoming and very pleasant when we arrived! The room was lovely , clean and very tasteful . Nice if you want a romantic and a bit of luxuary! Nothing was too much trouble The breakfasts were second to none and every thing you would like was there for you, well done on catering for different dietry needs! Cheers guys will definatly be back, ps give merlin our lv

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heyhoe74donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Guest House

Property: Kirkwood Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Guest House Hotel Windermere
Kirkwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing