We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkwood Guest House
Ranked #22 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay here”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

What can I say, we booked and paid for a party of five but due to the snow two of our party could not make it to the guest house, Boyd and Mags greeted us three and offered a voucher for our friends who could not make it.

Once we were shown our lovely rooms we were offered teas and coffees. Mags and Boyd gave us a map and directions to the nearest eating spots.

We had a great nights sleep and a lovely warm shower before a perfectly cooked breakfast with a never ending supply of toast.

Boyd gave me a shovel to dig the snow around from the car and salted around the tyres.

I love the lakes and have now found a place that I will continue to keep coming back.

Thanks Mags and Boyd ..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpyclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
169
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

we stayed at the beginning of October and had a lovely stay. The room was immaculate and had some lovely touches even down to providing a cork screw small tea pot and a vast choice of refreshments. The bed was so comfortable i didn't was to get out of it and the breakfast was beautiful.

I would most certainly recommend to family and friends and I look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay, NZ
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My family and I had 3 nights at Kirkwood Guest House, it was wonderfull! The rooms were spacious, beautifully clean and the breakfasts were delicious. Mags and Boyd were so helpful and had wonderful knowledge on the local area - they did everything possible to help us have a wonderful stay! We would definately recommend to anybody and we shall we returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just back from a most enjoyable 4th stay at The Kirkwood and had to put pen to paper in praise of proprietors Mags and Boyd who spare no effort to make you feel at home. (Take with a big pinch of salt any comments which cast doubt on their commitment to running a top quality B&B). Service, cleanliness, friendliness and good cooking are all words which immediately come to mind when thinking of The Kirkwood.
The Kirkwood is located in a quiet district which is centrally place for Windermere or Bowness on foot or by car and within easy reach of all areas of The National Park. It has certainly served us well as a base for our walking, shopping, eating, and visits to the quaint local cinema in Bowness! We have always found the accommodation to be clean and well maintained and the rooms are tastefully decorated, warm, and amply furnished (including the latest digital TV) and the en-suite facilities, where there is always a copious flow of hot water and all the towels you need, leave nothing to be desired.
We enjoy the satisfying Traditional English breakfast in the bright and airy dining room but all diets are catered for and there is always a good choice of cereals, and an unending supply of fruit juice, coffee/tea, and toast. Top marks!
Mags and Boyd are a mine of useful information on local facilities, attractions, and events, and are always happy to help in suggesting and planning interesting walks, cycle rides, or drives.
All in all we had a most satisfying break and will be back – don't let the experience pass YOU by!
Thanks to Mags and Boyd from Amy and Ian (ex Scotland and 25yrs in Warrington)

Room Tip: We had Room 2 on ground floor which has recently been refurbished but so also have other rooms and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Comfortable bed, very clean and welcoming very helpful with guide to area. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ijsmith2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kirkwood in June! The family room we stayed in was sweet, immaculate and comfortable; our breakfasts were delicious and filling; and the location is ideal for exploring the Lake District. Mags and Boyd are truly lovely people, making us feel welcome and at home. Boyd's knowledge of the area is second to none and with his recommendations had a wonderful time exploring back roads and views that we will never forget. Many, many thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We love Kirkwood. Having stayed in some of the more expensive B&Bs advertising as themselves as Boutique before, we stubmled on Mags and Boyds little treasure and now make sure we can book on every visit.
The house is beautiful, the breakfast is second to none - ask for the daily specials! But the best bit about our stay is undoubtedly Mags and Boyd. They make you feel like you have come home, and no one is more passionaate about the Lakes than they are. We'll be back again before the year is out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Guest House

Property: Kirkwood Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Guest House Hotel Windermere
Kirkwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing