We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windermere Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windermere Suites
Ranked #21 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, excellent”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

One night stay here and we were over the moon with this place! Everything was 5 star, the room was amazing complete with spa bath. Breakfast was lovely served in the privacy of your own room. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be staying here again without a doubt! although expensive fir one night we feel it was worth every penny. Will recommend to everyone

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1979-kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    27
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
388
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing I can say that has not already been said. This is a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. Location is good for a nice stroll in to Bowness. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here (1 night) for my husbands 40th birthday recently (Ambleside suite) and all i can say is wow wow wow!!! Absolutely amazing room, i was blown away from the moment i entered the room, the photos on the website don't do it any justice at all, its so opulent and luxuriously furnished, and finished to a very very high standard with extremely high quality furniture. I got some fantastic photographs (that i cant stop looking at) -thanks to the luxurious settings they are perfect for enlarging and framing. I even took a photo of my cup of tea because i just loved the villaroy&bock cup ~ which i am now obsessed with ~ i really need some of those cups lol!! Everything was absolutely perfect, even the colour-changing bathroom mirror was amazing and the tap with LED lights OMG i need those as well!! We both slept really well in the silver leaf 'fit for royalty' huge bed and have to say it was soooo so comfy ( i now need one of those too Haha)! And then finally, we have breakfast...served at a time to suit, it is the most amazing breakfast (more like a banquet) to start the day with and being served through a private serving hatch was the icing on the cake for us. I went for the cooked vegetarian option and definitley recommend it (i'm not a vegetarian but always opt for it as i find its tastier). I could eat that every morning, and it kept me going all day untill teatime. We definitely definitely hope to return in the warm weather ~ i can just imagine sitting out on the patio watching the sunset (or rise for that matter)! ~ funds & child minder permitting, (either for my April birthday or May wedding anniversary) the hardest decision would be which room i would book next as they all look so inviting. Oh, and i really wish i had taken a pic of the chandeliers that greet you in the reception area ~ OMG they are so amazing (though i wouldn't like to clean them lol)! So, A very sincere 'Thank you' to vicky (owner) and her team for making our very rare break away from our 'Darling' (no~honestly?!) 6 kids, a very happy and memorable stay, one that will be cherished for very long time. If you are thinking of staying at Windemere Suites ~ please book it, i have absolute confidence you will not be disappointed at all ~ Sharon (& Graham), (Rochdale).

Room Tip: Ambleside has a (very) private covered patio area, so may be more suitable if your a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbielonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked it fairly last minute for an anniversary, the deluxe room is very modern with a jacusi bath and different coloured lights to choose from, a massive double bed and lovely features. Overall very impressed with the room and the service was truly excellent. The wine, chocolates and breakfast included were all delicious and the spa also included is lovely. Thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the lake district.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emrjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic twixmas stay here with my wife as a break from work and caring for elderly relatives. Service, Food, Room cant be faulted but at the price you wouldnt expect anything else. Romance package a must. Just one or two small things let it down especially for price, lights should be able to be switched on or off seperately to make mood better in room instead all on one switch. Full length mirror in room would be nice instead of hidden on back of walk in wardrobe door. Champagne at £40 a bottle was £18 a bottle in window of local wine store,I realise hotels mark these things up but theyll be getting a discount over the £18 therfore probably got nearly 200% markup on it which to me is ripping folk off, they are aiming at couples on romantic breaks therefore get away with it (&yes I did pay it!). For a one off special occasion, where you arent worried about the cost I would recommend it but you certainly wouldnt do it on a regular occasion unless money is no object!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to the Patterdale Suite at Windermere Suites for a 3 night break in December. The suite was absolutelty gorgeous and we loved the added touch of the romantic package, which was included with no added charge as they had an offer on! The bath was brilliant and with the TV on the wall above, was a great post-walk way to warm up and chill out at the same time! The service was great and the breakfast was nice - in particular the porridge which we got some pear added to! Would love to come back again in the better weather, felt well looked after and the location was perfect for long walks and visiting local restaurants in Bowness in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is worth every penny, so much work has gone in to making every last detail perfect. From the decor to the little treats to surprise your loved one. The windermere suits is the perfect romantic break with a double bath, and breakfast served in your room, you will fall in love all over again. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Suites

Property: Windermere Suites
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windermere Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 super luxury suites aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. The Windermere Suites were the winner of the AA's 'Funkiest B&B' award for 2010 and are also finalists in the 2012 Conde Nast Johansen's Awards for Excellence, and Winners of Cumbria Tourisms 'Best Guest Accommodation' These butler-serviced suites offer designer luxury set in the natural beauty of the Lake District. The 8 super luxury suites are aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. With a 5-star Guest Accommodation rating from the AA, suites come with luxury bathrooms and modern furniture from designers such as Philippe Starck. Each suite features a handmade, silver-leaf Frank Hudson super-king bed. All suites have 42-inch LCD TVs, crystal lights and free Wi-Fi. A hearty Cumbria platter or continental breakfast, with freshly ground coffee, is delivered to your suite every morning. Breakfast is served at a time to suit you. A room service menu is also available. Windermere Suites are just a 2-minute walk from the town centre and Windermere Train Station. Lake Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, home to the 'World Of Beatrix Potter' are also within easy walking distance. Guests receive free spa and health club membership at the Old England Hotel, which is just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windermere Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Windermere
Windermere Suites Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing