We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experiance Ever!!!”
Review of Storrs Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Storrs Lodges
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Experiance Ever!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the lodges.. which is on the same site as the hotel which by the way is beautiful.
The lodge was nice, welcoming, cosy and i cannot fault in any way. The beds where comfy, the room where clean and the view was perfect.
Even though we went in winter we will definatly be coming back in the summer. The best UK short break ive ever been on!

Room Tip: either the lodges or hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Zoe B,

Great!!! Thank you for your entry and I am sincerely pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lodges/chalets. We are still considering ourselves to be in Autumn, not to wish ourselves too quickly into the cold winter with short days. For the summer, please do not hesitate to contact us and check on availability with our reservation department, the hotel or myself.
Again, thanks for making time to write.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
30
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Excellant lodge meeting all our needs as a family. We were exceptionally impressed with the lake view and the ability to access the lake.

Beautiful surroundings and fantastic service. Perfectly located for various trips out.

Loved our stay and would definitely come again, and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The corner lodges provided greater out space and different aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sue O,

Thank you for making time to write. Storrs is not in the centre of Bowness, just a few minutes away. The advantage is though that we are centrally situated in the Lakes. All the various attractions, fells and much more are not far away. Even the ferry crossing Lake Windermere is nearby, taking you in the Hawkshead direction and beyond. I am pleased this worked for you. When you like to return, please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department, the hotel or myself.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stunning views right by the lake, excellent food. We stayed the weekend of the 19th May 2012 in one of the lodges. It's not the chepest place, the service at the bar was a bit slow. Storrs Hall is not the place to take a young baby as there are no facilities to accomodate baby changing and not wheelchair/pram friendly. We were staying there as guest at a wedding and had to change our baby on the floor of the disabled toilet as there are no other facilities available. Not hygenic or convenient. I am aware that children under 12 arent ordinarily allowed to stay however a table or raised area to accomodate younger guests should be a standard. There were several families attending the wedding.

With regards to the lodge we found that the internal doors in the lodge only open half way and needed to be plained at the bottom.The bathroom had cracked floor tiles and looked as if there was damp getting in around the sink. The kettle had a damaged lid so had to watch it didnt boil over and the cabinet housing the television seemed to be unable to support the weight of the television. The toilet had a flusher which didnt work properly. I was quite disappointed as the hotel is 4 star and gives the impression the lodges are also 4 star when in fact they are 3 star.
The bar prices are quite expensive, £4.10 for a pint of larger and the shorts are quite a bit more £6.95 up to £19.

The plus parts are the staff were very well presented and quite knowledgable of the local area, the history of the hotel and the beverages on offer. The food was excellent, and the grounds are stunning with superb views of the lake. Excellent for walkers. I wouldnt stay again with a young baby only because of the lack of facilities, more likley stay as just a couple and book into the hotel instead of a lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_mum_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear new_mum_bec,

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive, positive entry, mixed with constructive criticism, about your stay. We do not object to the younger guests. We do experience though that the hotel does not really offer the right environment for the younger guests and it is better to be honest on this, instead of creating the wrong expectations. We have made a note of your various comments. The chalets are indeed rated as 3 stars by Visit Britain, which is related to the facilities. The drinks prices in the bar indeed vary. The basic spirits are less in price than the way you described them. The published prices of the spirits are based on doubles, even though singles can obviously be served. The higher end in the pricing is often for the more luxurious spirit types or brands.
When you like to visit Storrs again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

These timber lodges are in an amazing location on Lake Windermere. In the morning, you can take your cup of tea straight down to the waterside and enjoy it in the peace and quiet by the side of the water. It's completely idyllic.
The lodges are in the grounds of Storrs Hall Hotel and we went in several times for a drink. We were there during May half term 2011 (apologies for the long delay in gettng round to reviewing...), and there was a wedding on in a marquee on the first night. It is true that this was NOT peaceful, but heigh ho - hotels have weddings, so take this into account if you it would be a problem for you!
The lodges are a bit basic so if you like luxury, stay elsewhere. They are however perfectly adequate. The lack of free wifi does seem mean. One thing that did annoy me is that some of the lodges are advertised as having a lake view, and it appears there is a correspondingly higher price for this. Do not be mislead by this - the trees are so dense that the 'view' is a glimpse of the water through the leaves. All the lodges are really close to the lake and the 'view' did not enhance, or detract, from our stay - just the additional payment for something that is pretty meaningless!
Overall, this is well-priced accommodation in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: don't be worried if you don't have a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear traveller25,

You must be 26 by now, writing about May last year. Nevertheless, thank you for your constructive entry. We have no intention to misinform our guests on the lake side (views) of some of the lodges. There is a slight price difference, as the lake side ones do look down to the water edge. As you say, they are close to the lake and all within our extensive grounds. Walking along our footpaths you get beautiful views of the direct surroundings. Within the Lakes area the stay will be peaceful in most places, including Storrs, even though exceptions do happen and often out of our control. The wifi cost we will look into for the new season. The connection can only be made in the hotel and we might not be able to accommodate if the hotel has a private parties at times.
Again thank you for taking the time to write, better late than never.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We love the lakes and have used the English Lake Hotels for the last few years where I have received excellent treatment but I will never recommend anyone to stay here after the treatment we received on New Years Eve.

If you stay in the lodges you are treated as a second class citizen.

First of all WiFi is only available free of charge for hotel guests. If you stay in the lodges you have to pay.This makes no sense at all, you are either staying at Storrs Hall or not, the hotel and lodges are in the same ground and part of the same chain of hotels. It should make no difference that you are in a lodge.In the letter we received at the time of checking in it states"the hotel is open to lodge guests,if you would like to use the facilites please do not hesitate to enquire at reception. When asked about why we had to pay for the WiFII was told rules are rules. I even explained that we had visited the Low Wood hotel which is part of the same group to use their facilities and we had no problem using the WiFi there in fact they could not do enough for us. Eventually this matter was resolved.

Secondly on NYE my family and I decided that we would have drinks in the hotel bar to celebrate. We spend most of the evening there but decided to go back to the lodge for something to eat and then go back to the bar to celebrate New year. Once we got to the hotel reception we were told (in a rather rude and obnoxious manner and in front of everyone to see) we were not welcome as the hotel bar was closed to non resident!. This I found a bit of a joke, the hotel was happy to take my money early on in the evening, but was hell bent on not letting us celebrate the new year there!! The only time the hotel states it is unable is when it is booked for a private function, and no where in the hotel NYE did it state this.In my view, guests at the lodges are resident!

Its a shame because we had very high hopes about Storrs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Joanne W,

Thank you for your entry. We do appreciate comments from our guests, for the hotel and/or for the lodges. We have no intention at all to give anybody the feeling of a second class citizen.

On the Wifi, we will look into this for the new season, as more and more of our guests like to use this facility. The charge was mentioned though in the correspondence, and as said, we will look into this.

During the Christmas and New Year days we have many private guests booked in the hotel, staying for 4 nights or more. On New Years Eve the evening is a private party, where the hotel guests get suitably dressed for the evening and celebrate the New Year. On that evening we were pleased still to be able to accommodate you initially, as all the guests were still in our restaurant. Afterwards they moved to our bar and function room for this private party. I am sorry you had no alternatives for that evening.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windermere hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Have stayed here twice, first occasion in lodge 4 and the next time in lodge 3.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and it was wonderful and peaceful to stroll along paths or just sit on the lawn.
My daughter was especially delighted to come within 4 metres of a deer on the front lawn and captured the most amazing photograph.
The lodges themselves are delightful with woodland to the front and lake views to the back, off a rear patio. The self contained units had everything we needed to self cater. We had such a superb time we will be visiting again year after year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Lodges

Dear Helen T,

That photograph is really good. Quite unique to get a shot that close, looking straight into the camera. Must be a talented photographer in the making. Thank you for your entry, describing the stay in our lodges. If we can assist you again (and again) with another reservation please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department, the hotel or myself.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have always loved the Lake District and when it came to deciding where to get married, although there are plenty of suitable venues in South Manchester / Cheshire, it was obvious to us that the Lakes gave us the idyllic location. After a day planned looking at venues across the South Lakes, we started at Storrs...then another other 7 venues. They didn't have a chance! Storrs is not only a beautiful building but it's location on Windemere and views are impossible to beat. Add to that the staff led by 'Jan the man' and Laura, who provide an amazing service without being too intrusive, the food, menus, wines...I could go on. Our wedding day was perfect, something you hear a lot of people say to describe their wedding, but it really was...everything that I have already mentioned, but add to that 'attention to detail' and 'little touches' all we can say is thank you. We're already looking forward to staying on our anniversary next July. Dominic and Katie Marsden

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodendren, General Manager at Storrs Lodges, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Dominic and Katie,

Thank you for your positive comments. The entry has been shared with all our staff and we appreciate you taking the time to write. As said in previous correspondence, we hope we can welcome you both back (with all your guests?) to the hotel or the lodges.

Kind regards,

Jan van Stipriaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
4.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,733 reviews
4.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Lodges

Property: Storrs Lodges
Address: | On the grounds of Storrs Hall, Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Storrs Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hotel Windermere
Storrs Lodges Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing