We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday treat!!”
Review of Orrest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orrest Cottage
Ranked #47 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked a nights stay for my partner Jon's birthday - couldn't have been more pleased with my choice!!
Fabulous location, 2 minute walk from Windermere bus and train station, plenty places to park close by. We had a beautiful comfortable room - with an extremely comfortable mattress! I was slightly concerned that room 1(at the front) would be noisy but I need not have worried, had a lovely comfortable night.
Breakfast was superb!! Pre-ordered the night before, it was served hot and delicious!! Little additions of home made granola and bread were just gorgeous.
All this topped off with great hosts!! Dave and Laura were lovely, very welcoming and friendly!
We will DEFINITELY be returning - and not just to collect my coat!
HIGHLY recommended. - It's a gem!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a great choice!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancsLass1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Orrest Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in the 'Loft Suite', the rooms were very clean and beautifully presented with cute touches. Perfect for those looking for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was delicious and so much choice, even though we had the full English everyday. The B&B is very close to the train station and there's even a fish and chip shop next door! Only a 20 minute walk down to Bowness with excellent views of the lake from Orrest Head as well, only a 20-30 minute walk away. Would recommend Orrest Cottage to anyone wanting to go to the Lakes.

Room Tip: Choose the loft suite, well worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allister93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thanks guys glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again sometime.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last minute as a post Christmas break. We stayed in room 2, room was modern and also very clean. The cottage is in a lovely spot for either walkers or people who want to go and enjoy the restaurants/pubs. There was also plenty of choice for breakfast which was also delicious. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed it, remember to contact us direct for your next booking.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend just before Christmas, we stayed in room 1 which was lovely! Really comfortable bed, slept so well! Ensuite was very clean and modern and all toiletries are supplied!! Breakfasts were amazing, we tried out a different one everyday and they definitely set you up for a day out walking! Location was brilliant, very handy for the train and close to the pubs and restaurants in Windermere as only a leisurely 30 minute walk into bowness and the lake! David and Laura are so welcoming and helpful when it comes to good spots to walk/visit! Looking forward to coming back in the summer!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmiB167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a fantastic stay this New Year's Eve. The cottage is modern, spotlessly clean, warm and comfy. Breakfast the next day was delicious. The cottage is in Windermere a nice stroll away from Bo'ness or an easy bus ride. Perfect for walkers great base location if you are visiting sights of the lakes.

Room Tip: Room 3 in the loft is delightful with a separate living room with DVD player and DVDs to relax and e...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairejane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks guys glad you enjoyed it and a happy new year to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Another fantastic stay at Orrest Cottage..........Everything was again first class and it was good to see David & Laura again. One difference was the breakfast........it has got even better than the last time we stayed! More choice (cant believe that was possible!), and it really sets you up for a good days walking. We cant recommend Orrest Cottage highly enough and we will be going again as soon as we can in 2014. Thanks once again, Fiona & Ian.x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarmarisBabe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thanks so much guys, lovely to see you again! Happy Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed just 1 night at this lovely B&B . The owners David & Laura couldn't have been more helpful, everything spotlessly clean, & a scrumptious breakfast cooked by David the following morning, Thanks Guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolieambleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#6 of 107 in Windermere
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#35 of 107 in Windermere
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 107 in Windermere
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#38 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orrest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orrest Cottage

Address: 17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orrest Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David & Laura would like to invite you to stay in their cozy three-story 19th-century Lakeland Cottage situated in the town of Windermere, in the beautiful English Lake District. Orrest Cottage has been refurbished to give a contemporary feel and atmosphere. There are three comfortable en-suite rooms, each able to accommodate two adults. There is lots of fresh Lake District air and certainly plenty of local walks and many starting from just outside the front door. Across the road is the start of the Orrest Head walk, made famous by Lakeland author Alfred Wainwright, it offers you some of the most stunning views over the Lake District fells. We are ideally located just 200m, if you're walking, from either Windermere railway station or the main bus stop at Windermere Tourist Information and we're just the same distance from the centre of town. For your convenience we are Wi Fi enabled, and can offer you flexible check–in times to suit your needs. Check-out is by 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Orrest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orrest Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing