We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a lovely B&B! It is well located near the station, local amenities and routes for walks. It is extremely clean, run by a very friendly and helpful couple and really good value. We came up for a wedding and were able to book for one night, which can be tricky in Windermere. One of the best breakfasts I can remember as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    28
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
169
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in early June 2013 in Room 2. This is a 3-bedroom B&B, located very conveniently (3-minute walk) from the Windermere rail/bus station. Easy to get here, even with luggage. Room 2 is probably the quietest room in the
B&B, as it faces the back of the cottage. Room 3 is a loft, and while it faces the street, it did not seem nearly as noisy as my traveling companion's Room 1 (which faces the street). The bed was very comfortable, and there was a nice-sized bath and shower. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. There was excellent WIFI coverage in my room. Downsides: My room was a bit chilly (temperatures were in the 50-60 degree F. range during my stay), and there was some plumbing noise. The room could use some much stronger reading lamps by the bedside. Tip: We found a greater number and variety of restaurants in Bowness, vs Windermere. Overall, if I could have Room 2 (1st choice) or Room 3 (2nd choice), I would stay here again. Room 1 would probably be too noisy for me, as I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gswVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and were glad you enjoyed your stay, we will look into getting some stronger reading lamps in room 2 after your suggestion

With regards to the temperature of your room, were sorry you found it slightly cold, if you had mentioned this during the stay we would naturally be more than happy to have increased the heat......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our second stay at orrest cottage and every bit as enjoyable as the first.David and Laura were very welcoming and only too keen to offer advice on when and where to go.The cottage is perfectly placed with the train and bus station less than a 5 minute walk away and parking is no problem.Bike hire is about 200 yards away and the bustling town centre literally a stones throw away.Within half an hour of arriving we were at the top of Orrest head having tea and sandwiches with a wonderful sunset.
Rooms are cosy and welcoming and were serviced every morning and breakfast was beautifully cooked.
We attended the beer festival at Staveley on the saturday which was brilliant and easy to get to.
This b&b is ideally placed for any lakeland activity and with such friendly hosts it made for a perfect long weekend.We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks guys it was great to see you again, we are going to the next beer festival for sure!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for one evening and we absolutely loved the place. Not only were the rooms nicely presented and clean but the whole cottage was very inviting and cozy. We went with friends so the lounge on the second floor was great for relaxing and talking the night away. The breakfast was so delicious and the owners were so nice in telling us what types of things to see. They suggested a great walk which we did on the morning we were leaving and the views were really something. So glad we stayed here; looking forward to going back someday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreakhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were able to book for just 1 night on a Saturday as we were driving from Liverpool to Glasgow to collect some items and thought it would be nice to stop over in the Lakes for a night on the way back. We are regular visitors to a family owned place in the Lakes but have not spent much time in Windermere. Well this little B&B surpassed all expectations, decorated beautifully with lots of little charming touches, we arrived and let ourselves in with David's instructions, so time is not an issue, then we had a fabulous meal in a restaurant called Postilion in Bowness, a 15 min walk down the hill and watched the late evening sunset over the Lake, it was beautiful. We were in the 3rd floor loft room and the bed was very comfy, had a good sleep and an amazing breakfast before our outing to Wasdale head on the Sunday. David and Laura couldn't have been nicer, very attentative at breakfast and nothing was to much trouble, would definitely recommend and hope to stay again :0)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope the wedding goes well! and thanks again for our little pressie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We Stayed at this BB for three nights at the end of May, and had a fabulous stay. Although the rooms are small they are more than adequate. David and Laura really go that extra mile and are A1 in their customer service. As we had booked so late they could only accommodate us by moving us to different room on the final night but this was made as hassle free as possible. It also gave us the chance to view the different rooms, and they were both fantastic. They really try to think of everything. Both rooms had separate shampoo, conditioner, shower gel for women and for men, hand cream and air freshener. The beds were very comfy and when Laura learnt that I drank green tea only, she supplied lots of green tea bags in my room, which I thought was very thoughtful.

The breakfast was lovely and included homemade bread (white or wholemeal) it has stopped me from buying normal bread as I am trying to find bread as good as that. You can have a full English and as much toast as you like. There is also a choice of cereal and fruit, and yogurt as well. Also on your table you are given a pint of water, milk and Fresh orange ( which was great as my partner loves fruit juice).

David and Laura are very knowledgeable on the area so they are very enthusiastic in giving advice. They also have a lot of guides to walks.

We have stayed in a few BBs in the Windermere and this has by far been the best, so this is definately were we are going to stay from now on!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We only spent on night here--we were heading to another part of the lake district after. We arrived late, but it was no problem--we were able to walk from the train station in the rain, its that close! And they have a special key system set up so you can let yourself in. The room was super cute and very clean, with a nice tea and granola bar set up for us. It was an oasis. We didn't sleep well because it was rather hot and there was someone snoring! But that was really no one's fault, just one of those things! We loved the room, which we could have spent longer in it. Breakfast was one of the best Full English (Cumbrian, here) of our whole 2 week long trip in England. Love!!! Delicious stewed rhubarb and FULL table service for these sleepy faces of ours. I believe their names are Laura and Matt, sorry if my memory fails me...Laura refilled our coffee a bunch and they both offered us lots of suggestions and help to get our bearings in the Lake District and adjust to driving on the "other side of the road." Do the walk up to Orrest Head if you have time!

Room Tip: I believe we had room 2, it faces the street and is on first floor--could be quieter elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slipperedsallly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, hope the rest of your stay was good... say hi to New York for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#18 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#65 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#80 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David & Laura would like to invite you to stay with them in their cozy three-story 19th-century Lakeland Cottage situated in the town of Windermere, in the beautiful English Lake District. Orrest Cottage has been refurbished to give a contemporary feel and atmosphere. There are three comfortable en-suite rooms, each able to accommodate two adults. Wake up and look forward to a delicious Lakeland breakfast. To boost your appetite there is lots of fresh Lake District air and certainly plenty of local walks and many starting from just outside the front door. Across the road is the start of the Orrest Head walk, made famous by Lakeland author Alfred Wainwright, it offers you some of the most stunning views over the Lake District fells. We are ideally located just 200m, if you're walking, from either Windermere railway station or the main bus stop at Windermere Tourist Information and we're just the same distance from the centre of town. For your convenience we are Wi Fi enabled, and can offer you flexible check–in times to suit your needs. Check-out is by 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing