We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #65 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for just one night when visiting the area, although my husband had stayed some years previously. We had a lovely room on the top floor well decorated and furnished, although the bathroom was more dated. The bed was comfortable and room lovely and warm during the cold snap, in fact we had to turn the heating down a little but this had all been explained and was easy to do.

We were made to feel very welcome with tips on parking, directions to local restaurant etc. The breakfast was excellent and piping hot which is a pleasant change from many hotels!

We would certainly stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agjavjones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    41
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
25
74
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at green gables and carol was just lovely and couldn't make us feel more welcome. Our room was a family room and had enough space for our travel cot. Unfortunately the tv was hanging off the wall and not really watchable. The beds were comfy and just what we needed. Sadly the bathroom and shower were a but basic but did the job.

Breakfast was lovely and carol even catered for our vegetarian requirements not questions asked. They were so helpful and we had a lovely stay.

The b&b is walking distance to Windermere town and is a great spot. Parking is in the car park across the road which isn't the cheapest but at least it's available.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendover_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just stayed overnight,but what a lovely little guest house this is.Excellent room,excellent hosts and excellent breakfast.very friendly owners,and in an ideal spot for Windermere.This is my second visit this year and looking forward to my next return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights here and it was lovely. They were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. Trying to work out our next trip and incorporate a couple more nights here. We found this place by chance, and just had a good feeling about it when we booked - very glad we went with our gut feeling - it was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here as a spur of the moment as we had been to Blackpool & fancied somewhere different & very glad we did.
Not to far from the town but there isnt a lot in the way of restaurant nearby.
Very friendly, Beds comfy & the breakfast was lovely.
Minibar in the main comunal room was very handy.

Would recommend to a friend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Carol is very helpful with ideas of where to go and visit in the daytime and also where to eat at night,and as for Gilly she is always cheerfull. The room was ideal for the 2 of us and the breakfast was excellent, filled you up for the day ahead.Thank you for my birthday cakes they were excellent. I will be telling my friends to stay at Green Gables

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a most enjoyable stay here, room very comfy and clean, fabulous breakfast. Carol was a great hostess, very friendly and couldn't help enough, knew all the best places to go and see, will be visiting again the next time I'm in Windermere with having a great position for seeing the sights on foot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#75 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crompton House
Crompton House
#48 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#80 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#34 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbury House
Westbury House
#70 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing