We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Warm Welcome"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #62 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SUSSEX ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"Warm Welcome"”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

On arriving Carol greeted us and advised us of the free parking further up the road, after moving the car, Carol showed us our room which was a double en suite, just what we wanted, very clean homely, and very comfy,we only stayed 1 night, but we would stay longer next time...Breakfast well the reviews we right, good choice, freshly cooked local produce, plenty of tea and coffee etc.
Well done Carol and team..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIN005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
75
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really good base camp for exploring the Lake District . Friendly staff . Great Price and a magic breakfast with some added banter . If only they could have worked their magic on the weather !! We shall return ....... With waterproofs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you can find a nicer more warmer person than Carol at the Green gables then PLEASE give us a call.Too many b and bs want your money and are not interested (once your in the door) in you.In this establishment you are made to feel like part of the family.Will return most def !!

Room Tip: Great top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this B&B for two nights based mostly on the positive reviews on 'tripadvisor'. We were very pleasantly welcomed by the bubbly Carole, who greeted us warmly. Green Gables is a very homely place and well decorated throughout. (nice carpets Carole) The two rooms we stayed in were on the top floor, easily acessible with en-suite and bathroom facilities. Both rooms were spotlessly clean. The parking was never an issue with free on street parking and a low cost overnight car park. Carole was always available for advice, from local restaurants to the best places to visit during our stay. We had read about the wonderful breakfast and were not disappointed, it was the best start to the day anyone could wish for. There was plenty of choice and we were asked if we had any particular dietry needs. Gillian was a little gem at breakfast, service was prompt and the food always hot.Sadly all good things come to an end, so thank you for the home from home . Because there are so many choices in the B&B world, the difference mainly rests in the personalities of the people who own and run these guest houses. If that is the case Carole, you will need to buy the property next door. (i know a great carpet company). Green Gables on my phones favourites list.

Room Tip: top floor has an en suite room and rooms with shared bathroom/wc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

A smashing B&B in an excellent location - especially if you're using public transport to get around. Carol is a super host with a smile/story/piece of local advice whenever it's required. Room was spotless with everything you would need. Breakfast choice was really good. I stayed an extra night and would've stayed longer if I didn't have to get back to work! Definitely returning to Green Gables Windermere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halescouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just stayed one night, but the b and b was really welcoming. The rooms were lovely and very clean and we stayed in a 3 bed room which was great value. Breakfast was excellent and they catered well for vegetarians too. Parking is a little difficult if you want to park for free, but we paid in the car park opposite. Only slight negative is that check out was quite early and we could have done with an extra hour or two.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Guest house stays can vary greatly; sometimes you get the warm welcome followed by tepid accommodation - other times the reverse. It was very pleasing, therefore, that our lovely welcome from Carol was followed by one of the best stays we have enjoyed anywhere.
The house is a substantial and inviting period property offering very comfortable accommodation in well kept and spotlessly clean rooms. We were lucky to find a parking spot right outside the property but with the large car park opposite offering overnight parking for one pound this is never going to be an issue.
After a relaxed night we were presented with a hearty and wonderfully cooked breakfast, complete with the vibrant service of both Carol and Gillian.
We only stayed in Windermere for one night as we passed through; that we left wishing we were staying longer was due entirely to the welcome and service we received.
Thank you both; you provide an excellent service. Should we be in the area again you will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#66 of 107 in Windermere
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#94 of 107 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#95 of 107 in Windermere
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#19 of 107 in Windermere
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Rose
White Rose
#52 of 107 in Windermere
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing