We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and homely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #67 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Very nice warm welcome from the owner who showed us to our room which was spacious and although our room had a private bathroom this was not a problem as it was only a couple of strides from the bedroom door and was for the sole use of my room. Located very centrally and a stroll into the town centre takes only a minute. Breakfast was bacon sandwiches because we left so early in the morning, these were freshly prepared and much appreciated. The guest house has a really nice friendly atmosphere and the Owner was happy to recommend eateries and help with directions. There is a large car park seconds away from the front door which we never had a problem parking a large van. Really happy with our stay and would recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cityhullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
73
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have just had an overnight stay at Green Gables and were made very welcome on arrival.The rooms were very clean and comfortable..I had read reviews that the breakfast was very nice and I have to say they were not wrong it was delicious....thank you to Carol and staff for a pleasant stay in Windermere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked this for my Mum last weekend. She thoroughly enjoyed her stay. Carol was more than welcoming and made her feel very much at home. My Mum said the breakfast was excellent. She now wants to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mambo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Green Gables is a very welcoming guest house with nice people who seem to enjoy running the place. Our room was small – but with the best use having been made of the space – and the breakfast (in a pleasant and well-furnished dining room) was excellent – good food, well cooked and served with attentiveness and a smile!

We were a little disappointed that our room’s location didn’t allow for Wi-Fi access – nowadays this facility is always sought after and it may be worth considering that access to rooms remote from the Wi-Fi source can be improved with a booster.

We struck lucky with our parking! Having been told that there was limited free street parking – or the alternative of a paid car park opposite – we were fortunate in finding a space right across the road from the guest house.

Overall, great price for a good location in a popular tourist area.

Room Tip: If space is a necessity it's worth asking for the best sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldrew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just spent the weekend in Windermere at Green Gables. We were met by host Carol on possibly the worst day for weather ever. Carol told us she would dry anything that should get to wet!

Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good more than adequate.

The friendliness of the staff and owners make this accomodation worth returning to.
Thank you for a great weekend despite the weather

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Me and my man Keith have just come back from 2 nights at Green Gables. What a brilliant stay!!!!! You could not ask for a more friendly and warm welcome, the room was lovely bright and airy on a nice quiet side street, and the breakfast .............. what can I say but absolutely brilliant !!! As much as can be sourced from the local area, no greasy breakie here I can tell you, just totally tasty and filling. We didn't need to eat for the day, and trust me I have a big man who loves to eat so for him to go without says it all. I will advise for the fussier people Carol will do anything within her remit to make sure you enjoy so just ask !!!!! The only piece of advice is that everyone we meet walking to the lake and back had been told it was a 10 to 15 minute walk........NO, this is only possible if you power walk in our opinion, it is a lovely stroll down quite a steep hill and back, but for me and the man who don't do walking at all, on a lovely day it was fine and took about 30 minutes uphill, but there are buses and taxis's. but should you choose to walk just take your time and enjoy, we did. Thank you Carol and Alex for a great break away and we will definately be back as soon as we can xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Made to feel welcome by Carol. Room small, but clean, bright and perfectly adequate. Lovely breakfast staff. Sadly on a diet, so did not sample the delicious looking and ample breakfast. Will definitely have it next time. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#76 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#78 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#15 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing