We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #66 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Welcoming hosts”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just spent the weekend in Windermere at Green Gables. We were met by host Carol on possibly the worst day for weather ever. Carol told us she would dry anything that should get to wet!

Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good more than adequate.

The friendliness of the staff and owners make this accomodation worth returning to.
Thank you for a great weekend despite the weather

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    44
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
75
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Me and my man Keith have just come back from 2 nights at Green Gables. What a brilliant stay!!!!! You could not ask for a more friendly and warm welcome, the room was lovely bright and airy on a nice quiet side street, and the breakfast .............. what can I say but absolutely brilliant !!! As much as can be sourced from the local area, no greasy breakie here I can tell you, just totally tasty and filling. We didn't need to eat for the day, and trust me I have a big man who loves to eat so for him to go without says it all. I will advise for the fussier people Carol will do anything within her remit to make sure you enjoy so just ask !!!!! The only piece of advice is that everyone we meet walking to the lake and back had been told it was a 10 to 15 minute walk........NO, this is only possible if you power walk in our opinion, it is a lovely stroll down quite a steep hill and back, but for me and the man who don't do walking at all, on a lovely day it was fine and took about 30 minutes uphill, but there are buses and taxis's. but should you choose to walk just take your time and enjoy, we did. Thank you Carol and Alex for a great break away and we will definately be back as soon as we can xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Made to feel welcome by Carol. Room small, but clean, bright and perfectly adequate. Lovely breakfast staff. Sadly on a diet, so did not sample the delicious looking and ample breakfast. Will definitely have it next time. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a nice one night stay at the Green Gables Guest house - the host Carol was lovely and friendly and so was the lady who served the lovely breakfast but we dont know her name. It was a great location for Windermere and a 10 to 15 minute walk into Bowness. The only down side was the bed was a tad too hard but that was just a little niggle. Overall it was a good value for money guest house and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieq12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

On our arrival,we were greeted by Gillian who made us feel very welcome.Our Family room was very adequate,clean and comfortable.The lounge was very cosy and relaxing,nice to chill out with a beer from the bar whilst you watched the tele!! The breakfast was really great and plentiful,i even had a candle put in my grilled tomato for my Birthday (what a nice touch).
would definately recommend this guest house to family and friends

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a very warm and freindly BB. We just spent 2 nights there and was pleasently surprised as we have stayed in more expensive places and NOT received the same welcome. the breakfast is 1 of the best too. well done Carol, we will see you AGAIN. x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socket52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I'd telephoned Green Gables to book an overnight stay. Carol, the owner was so friendly yet professional. I was meeting some friends from various parts of the UK, some of whom also stayed at Green Gables. Parking was easy.
On arrival, my first impression was being welcomed by Carol who has a genuine and friendly manner. She took me to my room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful with many options, I chose full English breakfast and it was cooked perfectly.
So impressed was I, that I wanted to extend my stay for another night but, unsurprisingly, Green Gables was already fully booked.
The price is excellent value for money and I'd certainly stay there again, and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#90 of 108 in Windermere
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#54 of 108 in Windermere
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westbury House
Westbury House
#68 of 108 in Windermere
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crompton House
Crompton House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 108 in Windermere
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing