We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and it didn't disappoint.”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $55
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second visit and it didn't disappoint.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The service here really is second to none - thank you for another fantastic evening! Very good food and good value overall. Great decor (things have changed a little since we last visited - love the bombay sapphire chandelier and bespoke wallpaper) and had such a lovely relaxing few drinks after dinner. Really like this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your latest visit to the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you came back and saw the changes and enjoyed your latest dinner.
We hope you wont leave it so long before your next visit.
Thanks again for taking the time to review your visit.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I went to several restaurants in London, Warwick and Lake District . This is the only one that I am so impressed. Good food and service . The newly renovated lounge actually is very modern. But you have a choice to sit either there or the original lounge before dinner. Not too many choices on menu but what do u expect for a small restaurant like this?
You won't be disappointed with their wine list which has wine from different countries.

Helpful?
Thank Nyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you evening in the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments. Very pleased to read that the dinner at Cedar Manor was your most memorable.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the UK and hope to welcome you back to the Lake District again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about!?”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'm baffled by the good reviews of this hotel/restaurant!?

We went there for a meal there a few days ago and were ushered into a lounge area by reception which would not have looked out of place in the 1960s. It had a large central light with several dozen pieces of blue glass/plastic (?) hanging from its frame; there was a flame effect electric fire in the corner and wallpaper that was tricked up (very unconvincingly) to look like it was a bookcase. Poor first impression but, on the plus side, our order was taken promptly and efficiently and we were served some rather bland hors d'oeuvres with our drinks.

The restaurant itself was quite cramped and very dark (I couldn't even see the keys on the credit card reader!), presumably to enhance the romantic experience?

The menu was fairly limited and the food itself was distinctly average. It included a ribeye steak of rather poor quality, according to my partner.

I would not fault the service which was courteous and friendly without being obtrusive. The size of the bill may have matched the chef's ambitions but not his achievements, in our view.

I could not comment on the hotel itself which may have made up for this disappointment but I can think of several other restaurants in the area that I would recommend ahead of this one, particularly for a special occasion.......

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks very much for your lengthy critique our restaurant. We have to say we are a little surprised, we know that you weren't impressed with the candlelit ambience fo the dining room but are very surprised to read your feedback on the decor and food.
The newly refurbished reception room has been designed by in internationally award winning interior designer who is based right here in Windermere. We commissioned the chandelier, of course the design isn't going to be everyone's taste.
A fine dining restaurant tends to have a limited menu, its the only way of keeping it freshly prepared and seasonal. A longer menu will often indicate to a guest that frozen produce is being served via a microwave.
We are sorry that Cedar Manor wasn't for you, but as you have read, its greatly appreciated by many others.
Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were taken to the Cedar Tree by good friends as a surprise, and it certainly was that! What a find! Fabulous service and a beautiful, intimate venue combine to create a very homely feel to this lovely restaurant. The food was excellent, fresh, well prepared and presented, and good to eat! We would love to return....tonight....and tomorrow....and the next day....!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OswaldWarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you ver y much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor, we would love to see you again, today, tomorrow or the day after. We hope to see you again soon,
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Fine Dining, first class”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

At the last minute we managed to make a booking here for a couple of hours after I called, parking was challenging because if the way they have laid the spaces out. What a beautiful building and fantastic restaurant.

We were shown into the lounge to review the menu and get some drinks. The menu was very brief, and was the same as the Spring one on their website. But, everything we had was absolutely delightful. We had a surprisingly gorgeous appetiser brought to us, spinach and roasted almond oil (I think) absolutely yummy!

The experience of quality service and food is always a surprise and we certainly had that.

The home made I've cream, according to my wife, was really good although I didn't have a dessert. I have to say the lamb was perfectly cooked and tasted excellent.

Well worth a visit, you'll have a great time I'm sure.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor and we were delighted to be able to offer you a table at the last minute. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Thank you again for reviewing.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing