We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and brilliant service!”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and brilliant service!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here for our wedding anniversary and my birthday. A very warm welcome from Jonathan. Fabulous food and excellent service. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. The staff went the extra mile to help us celebrate our special occasions! Highly recommend the dark chocolate terrine! Definately will be coming back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your night out at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your feedback, especially Patricia, our new waitress - she is doing really well is a real pleasure to have in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back on another special occasion in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here to celebrate my wife's 40th Birthday, we had a really nice meal, the quality of the food was excellent. The restaurant is quite small, so advanced booking is a necessity, it all feels quite homely and your not 'one of many' diners as you are welcomed with a nice glass of wine and seated in a drinks room, before being invited to the dining area.

There is not a large selection on the menu, but the meals we had were some of the best food we have eaten. The food is good value for the quality, at around £35-40 per person for 3 courses without drinks

Looking forward to going back next time we stay in the lakes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your evening in Windermere. We are delighted with your kind feedback and hope to see you again next time you are in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Something special...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to cedar manor recently for our anniversary and had an amazing night, we were very lucky to be accommodated so last minute also! We arrived and was greeted by Jonathan who seated us in the lounge while we decided what we were eating which was very pleasant then were taken through to the restaurant by the lovely Caroline who was very attentive throughout :). Our meal was unique and lovely, never tried my main of lamb with the combinations and the dessert was beautiful , I personally think it should be renamed citrus blast heaven as it was! I'm not usually a sweet person either! Could fault it and thought was fairly priced. Had a lovely seat by the window. Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend highly, another nice touch was it wasn't overcrowded so felt all the customers received excellent attention and you could hear each other talk ( hard to find nowadays!) overall fabulous dining experience, thank you very much

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and as for that pudding - its definitely one of our all time favourites!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Windermere.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely hotel/restaurant.Quality food, very attentive staff and never rushed to order/eat.Extensive wine list and reasonable array of whisky to choose from

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your evening at Cedar Manor, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely mean great service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

With a much deserved weekend away from the kids sorted my wife and I had a lovely meal at Cedar Manor. The reception area was pleasant and here we met Jonathon who was attentive to our every drink need. When booking I had asked for a relatively quiet table and was pleased with the table we were shown to. The amuse bouche of mushroom soup was tasty with the three main courses all very well balanced. Our waitress (a very pleasant and relaxed lady whose name I didn't get) was friendly and jovial - the place certainly isn't pretentious. Each course and gap between each course was relaxed and unhurried with Caroline also attentive but not overly so to our needs. We went for the cheese plate which was excellent and thank goodness for Carrs table water biscuits - not a thin dry black tasteless oat biscuit in sight! If I had any complaint it would be that the petit four (a small donut) was a little heavy but I'm picking holes in what was a thoroughly lovely meal with great service and a nice ambience. Compared to several other fine dining Lake District restuarants I've had the pleasure of visiting, whilst I can't say I had the best meal I've ever had here it was nonetheless one of the best I've had at this price point. There are plenty of reasonably pricey and in truth substandard restaurants in the Lakes and this isn't one of them. Overall excellent - we will be coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased with your feedback and think that its a very accurate portrayal of what we are trying to achieve in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing