We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night out”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $55
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Kendal,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely hotel/restaurant.Quality food, very attentive staff and never rushed to order/eat.Extensive wine list and reasonable array of whisky to choose from

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your evening at Cedar Manor, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely mean great service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

With a much deserved weekend away from the kids sorted my wife and I had a lovely meal at Cedar Manor. The reception area was pleasant and here we met Jonathon who was attentive to our every drink need. When booking I had asked for a relatively quiet table and was pleased with the table we were shown to. The amuse bouche of mushroom soup was tasty with the three main courses all very well balanced. Our waitress (a very pleasant and relaxed lady whose name I didn't get) was friendly and jovial - the place certainly isn't pretentious. Each course and gap between each course was relaxed and unhurried with Caroline also attentive but not overly so to our needs. We went for the cheese plate which was excellent and thank goodness for Carrs table water biscuits - not a thin dry black tasteless oat biscuit in sight! If I had any complaint it would be that the petit four (a small donut) was a little heavy but I'm picking holes in what was a thoroughly lovely meal with great service and a nice ambience. Compared to several other fine dining Lake District restuarants I've had the pleasure of visiting, whilst I can't say I had the best meal I've ever had here it was nonetheless one of the best I've had at this price point. There are plenty of reasonably pricey and in truth substandard restaurants in the Lakes and this isn't one of them. Overall excellent - we will be coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased with your feedback and think that its a very accurate portrayal of what we are trying to achieve in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

excellent food and service, non residents welcome, you wont be disappointed, food choice is good, wine menu plentiful, dining room warm and welcoming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Lakes again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheeky break”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly atmosphere and generally very good but falls short of our expectations at the price. My partners main course in particular failed to impress as it lacked real flavour. Obviously this is a snap shot of what we are sure is a very good restaurant that lacked a little something that would have elevated it to its 5* reputation.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
254 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“First Class Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Interesting selection of superbly presented top quality dishes professionally served in comfortable surroundings. Good wine list and all fairly priced for a first class dining experience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank konnosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank for dining at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing