We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #13 of 77 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $57
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table d'hote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I came to the Lake District for my 40th birthday and booked Cedar Manor, as although it was (at the time) the 6th best place in Windermere, it didn't have anything other than excellent or very good reviews.

By the time I visited, it was number 1 and it's easy to see why.
We were made to feel really welcome on arrival, was led through to a lovely warm lounge for a drink and some canapes and our orders were taken promptly but not rushed.

The restaurant was small but not in the least cramped, maybe a touch too dark, but a minor quibble.
The food was some of the best I've ever eaten, really delicious. The lamb main was melt-in-the-mouth. Every course was excellent.
The only real downside was that as it was such a great evening, it was over in a flash and before I knew it, I was outside in the rain again.
I would recommend this place to everybody and can't wait to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Scranmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you very much for such a great review. We are delighted you picked us from a vast list of good places to dine in Windermere. Thank you also for choosing us for your Birthday. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your evening and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 295 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wow! Absolutely outstanding food. Cannot say enough good things about Cedar Manor, service also first class. Very highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsty1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for such a great review - we are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were staying at the coach house at cedar manor on mini moon and decided to eat at the main house one night. The food was just beautiful the wine Jonathan chose went so well with the meal. They have created a warm ambience and are great hosts. We hoe to come back for our first wedding anniversary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LottieSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are very pleased that you chose to dine in the restaurant whilst staying in the Coach House. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Food good, service good, toilets clean, nice to start the evening in the lounge, nice little extras, coffee watery. Overall v. good, though expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased you found everything to be good, not sure what happened to your coffee, but sorry to hear you found it watery.
We hope to see you again if you find yourselves back in Windermere.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Warm welcome - great hosts, great food, superb suite. Just a short walk to the town.
Dislike leaving!!!

Thank LittleacornHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your restaurant experience at Cedar Manor, we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your evenings in the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing