We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #13 of 77 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $57
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Food good, service good, toilets clean, nice to start the evening in the lounge, nice little extras, coffee watery. Overall v. good, though expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased you found everything to be good, not sure what happened to your coffee, but sorry to hear you found it watery.
We hope to see you again if you find yourselves back in Windermere.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Warm welcome - great hosts, great food, superb suite. Just a short walk to the town.
Dislike leaving!!!

Thank LittleacornHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your restaurant experience at Cedar Manor, we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your evenings in the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Early Monday evening myself and my wife tried to find somewhere nice to eat in Windermere and called several restaurants which had been recommended to us, the Cedar Manor was the only one that was open - luckily for us as it turned out! We booked their last table. Jonathan who greeted us when we arrived was a delight to talk to, the interior of the building was tasteful and we could "just tell" this was going to be a great meal. It was superb. I had spinach ravioli as a starter and venison as a main, my wife had chicken with pancetta. Both meals were *top notch* and the desserts were too, though I opted simply for home-made ice-cream which again was delicious. The ambience of the restaurant was just right, there was some background music - but the choice was good and the volume just right, all it all it felt very welcoming. Will we return to the Cedar Manor for another meal? You bet we will! Book yourself a table now!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review you recent evening at Cedar Manor. You are quite right, on a Monday we are one of the few restaurants to be open. We are very pleased that you have now found and enjoyed the restaurant and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited Cedar Manor for a birthday. We were welcome in the lovely lounge were we had drinks - accompanied with tasty nibbles - before dinner. Our table was decorated with birthday decoration. The meal was fantastic from starter to dessert: great fish and meat. We were served with a little veloute before starters. The dishes are original and cooked to perfection. The birthday cake even had a candle on it. The owners were welcoming and attentive. The Dinner menu was price at a very reasonable £39.90. Value for what you get. We can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your Birthday at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I returned Cedar Manor for the second time to host a dinner on October 4th for 3 close friends who had travelled down from Keswick.

When I arrived there were 3 people in the lounge including myself. The owner/manager spent 5 mins chatting to the two other guests before approaching me to offer drinks - he could have politely excused himself to welcome me and offer a drink! He did not and offered no apology for keeping me waiting.

After the splendid dinner, we retired to the lounge and were joined by daughter and son in law of my principal guest who had come down to take my guest and their teenage children back to Keswick. The manageress/owner then rudely announced that she could only serve their parents soft drinks because they had not dined in the hotel! I had to remind her that I was the host not her and was perfectly willing to order a cheese platter to comply with licensing regulations. This solution should have been offered by the manageress/owner - it is a basic rule of customer service to offer a solution to a guest, not a negative response.

As I said before, this inhospitable treatment spoiled a wonderful dinner of excellent food and wine. ROGER PERRIN

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Mr Perrin

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor Hotel. We would like to apologise if you didn't feel that our usual high standards of service were present on this occasion.

We always try to give equal amounts of attention to all guests at all times. We were fully aware that you were in the lounge, you may recall that we greeted you at the door and showed you through to the lounge and offered you the menu and wine list whilst you were waiting for the rest of your party to arrive. We had already helped you find a lighter for your cigarette which you had outside whilst using your phone.

If we are serving other guests, we do expect a moments patience whilst we finish serving their drinks before moving on to the next guest, most guests allow us this courtesy. If I remember correctly you had arrived over half an hour early for your table.

We notice that you haven't commented on service during dinner, so we hope you were happy with it. We are very pleased to read that you marked the food 5* - one of the things that is always important to all of our team. Thank you.

At the end of the dinner two guests arrived to collect the younger members of your party. You asked us to serve alcoholic drinks to them, which they immediately declined in favour of coffee and juice. Caroline politely and professionally advised you that we would be unable to serve alcohol as our license does not allow us to serve non- resident diners alcoholic beverages. (if they have not eaten a substantial meal with us). Caroline was certainly not rude to you or your guest’s, just stating the licencing laws and this had absolutely nothing to do with poor customer service. Unfortunately you were not happy with this response and subsequently put us in a difficult situation, asking us to break the law, whereby, we could lose our liquor licence, the restaurant, and also putting employee’s jobs at risk which we were not prepared to do. What made the situation even more bizarre was your insistence to serve your guests alcohol even though they had already refused it as they were driving.

So in conclusion, we think your service issues are a bit harsh, perhaps un-necessary. We are, however, delighted that you scored the food so highly.

Best regards

Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing