We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the reviews”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lived up to the reviews”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I went to the Cedar on Saturday night following the reviews I had read of trip advisor and had a fantastic evening. The food and service were great from fantastic goats cheese starters to lamb that melts in your mouth.

Would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you firstly for choosing us and secondly for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We look forward to tempting you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a meal!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had booked this restuarant from the reviews of Trip Advisor.

It was my husbands 50th Birthday so I wanted something personal and lovely, and I we got what we wanted. The restuarant is part of a hotel owned by lovely hosts, decor was beautiful and very tastefully done.

It was not busy due to the fact it was the date of the opening ceremony of the olympics.
The choice of food is again tastefully done and all I can say is that the chef is very talented and creates some wonderful dishes.

Some people may think it can be a bit pricey - but in food if you pay good money you get a good meal.

We hopefully will go again when visiting the lakes........... if you like quality its a lovely place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your dinner to celebrate your husbands 50th. We love the title and the content of your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam
1 review
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had dinner here on a Tuesday night, having booked at short notice (thumbs up for Toptable) and purely on the Tripadvisor rating. The service was friendly, chatty and attentive without being intrusive. The food was excellent, and interesting; we both had the apple-cured salmon and papaya salsa, and then the rack of lamb (perfectly cooked, with a miniature hotpot as an accompaniment), and the halibut with samphire and brown shrimp which was fabulous and a perfect combination. The wine list is interesting, in particular the house champagne and the Dindarello dessert wine. All in all, it was a perfect evening out. We plan to return...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BijouTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. What fantastic feedback, we are delighted to have surpassed your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a special meal!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A beautiful meal - truly memorable, with friendly owners who enjoyed a chat. The attention to detail was outstanding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoanieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor on your visit to the Lakes. We are very pleased with your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited with my partner on a Thursday night.

Location and parking 4/5
Nicely situated, got a taxi there but seemed to have adequate parking.

Food 5/5
Excellent, easily surpassed our expectations.

Service 5/5
The staff were wonderful. Polite, friendly and informative. Not a bad thing to say.

Atmosphere 5/5
Loved the décor, clearly a lot of effort has gone into making this place look pretty. The night we went was quiet but that did make us feel uncomfortable.

Toilets 4/5
Clean.

Value 5/5
At just under £100 for two of us, we felt the food and especially the service was worth it.

Overall 5/5
Excellent food, wonderful service. Will definitely be back if we visit the Lakes again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hallie_Brosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing