We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome very spacious B&B would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Lodge Guest House
Ranked #26 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just 1 night and was delighted by the size of the room me & my partner stayed in stylish and plenty of original features the only thing I would pick at is I would have preferred to have the option of how would I like my toast as it was a bit to well done for me which ment I had to leave most if it but overall the cooked breakfast looked & tasted great I am just a very picky person who enjoys my toast lightly done :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Holly Lodge in May and were very pleased with our choice. It is located just off the main street in Windermere and offers comfortable quiet accommodation with ensuite and free WiFi. Room cleanliness is of a very high standard. There is a large sitting room for guests use and plenty of information available on the sights to see. There is no shortage of pubs and restaurants in the vicinity.
The breakfasts are superb with a range of choices available and the hostess and staff are very friendly.
The car park is a bit tight to negotiate especially if you have a big car, as we did.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesC379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in holly lodge for 3 days during the half term as a family of 4. We stayed in room 7 which is a interconnecting room with twin beds and a double bed in the main bedroom and the room comes with a ensuite bathroom and shower. The hotel is in the centre of windermere so if you like being near the shops it's great for and windermere and bowerness also have some great pubs and restaurants to eat in 2. During our time in the lakes we never encountered a problem and we found that the staff at our guest house were very friendly, cleaned rooms to a very high standard. At breakfast food was also served at a very high quality. There was lots to do and our 3 days went by very quickly. We ate out at night at the royal oak which serves fantastic food of brilliant quality and is only a short car or taxi ride into bowerness and serves you very quickly and everyone in our family left feeling full because we had all eaten a good meal with good portion sizes, you didn't get to much or to little. The beds in our room were very comfy which meant a great nights sleep for everyone! We checked in at 4pm and check in was extremely quick and easy so no problems there. Everything about the room was 10/10 we didn't have a brilliant view ( we had a view of the car park) it wasn't really a problem because it was a bit chilly to stand outside anyway,

A to visit is brochole. Great for the kids due to the fact that there is a very big adventure playground for them to keep them entertained for hours, features some glorious scenery which makes a brilliant photo for memories!. Has a coffee shop were you can get cakes and drinks at a good price and during the summer features a tree trekking thing which gives anyone a good adrenaline thrill! There is also a lake which is great to walk around and just adds to the picturesque place that brochole really is. Car parking prices are cheap so you could park your call all day for a reasonable price.

The 2nd place to visit was grasmere which contains a small array of shops, beautiful scenery and also features the delicious gingerbread which is done at a fantastic price. But there is a queue for this so if you don't mind queuing then you can end up taking home a piece of tender gingerbread to enjoy. There is also a large lake to go to which you go up a small road and is great for people wishing to take a walk there and explore the scenery. Also it is great for tourists and we saw lots of tourists visiting the area but even though there is not much to do you could spend at least half a day there

Lastly I just want to say that I would stay at holly lodge again and I feel that nothing could be improved and I just want to thank the staff at holly lodge for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rlloyd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just came back from a 3 night stay in Holly Lodge,really pleasant guest house,we stayed in room 2 on first floor,nice room light and airy,situated just outside and within walking distance of town centre,the only problem we encountered was we must have had a bunch of youngsters above us on one night we had some youngsters above who were quite noisy until gone midnight,but putting that aside we had a great time and would return again,many thanks to the owner Diane for making us welcome.

Room Tip: if going by car reverse to back of property,as it makes it easier to get out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent breakfasts provided from a menu with variety. The hostess even offered to do our laundry when we asked where there was a laundromat. The location is very close to center of Windemere. Best place we have stayed on our three week vacation in England.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dwight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a family room which was a really good size. This b&b is just off the main road and in an excellent location. Breakfast was plentiful. Diane is a lovely lady. A short stroll into the town centre, where there's plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes. We had a lovely meal at Lazy Daisy's which is near to Holly Lodge. We would definitely recommend Holly Lodge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Warm and friendly hotel with excellent breakfast.location is excellent with only being 100 yards to all the local amenities holly lodge is up there with the best. Marvellous grade listed building that's had some money thrown at it as old properties do. Still to do though, the bedroom we had which was a family room was in need of stuff doing if only minor things like loose fittings and bulbs missing, the windows were replacements and in need of some tlc, again minor stuff but I question the rating on the door. The car park is very tight with room for 6 cars with the owners motor parked there, with no room to turn around you have to reverse out onto a tricky road. I reversed the car on checking out and ended up with a screw in my tyre, if the owner reads this please sweep your car park. We do plan to return next year but it could be by train.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzilbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#6 of 107 in Windermere
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#30 of 107 in Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge Guest House

Address: 6 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holly Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel Windermere
Holly Lodge Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing