We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding surroundings, excellent service and lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding surroundings, excellent service and lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our second year staying in May. Beautiful views, a bus trip to old man coniston, excellent value, homecooked food, what more could you ask for! Oh yes, lovely staff!!! Will be back next May Anna & Fliss.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchabaldKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks guys for your review, see you next May if not before.

Thanks,

Andy Partridge
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
25
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Another great yha stay. Windermere YHA positioned at Troutbeck is a traditional old rambling house in a great location with all the facilities you could want for an country activity based vacation. Self catering kitchen or catered service, laundry, drying room, internet, hot showers , quiet reading room, great views and friendly relaxed staff. Rooms for small groups or the traditional bunk room. In addition to that the fun of sleeping in bunk beds. I particularly enjoy the sociability of mixing with like minded guests. Fortunately so many people just don't get it that there is more for those of us that do.

Room Tip: room 14 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, your not wrong, hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Andy Partridge
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my first ever stay in a hostel, having previously only stayed in hotels and elected to avoid camping at all costs. I was very pleasantly surprised at the YHA Windermere and will definitely look at hostels as an option for a place to stay in the future. The other guests were polite, friendly and considerate mainly families and people walking/cycling over the bank holiday weekend. The hostel was very clean with ample shower/toilet facilities to go round. The beds were comfy and the rooms are well equipped with a light and power sockets for each bed area. We used the self-catering facilities to cook for the first 2 nights which were well appointed and had all we required to cook and the last night we ate in the restaurant. The food was great and very good value - 2 courses and a drink for £10.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoniaLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks guys for a great review, hope to see you again soon.

Andy Partridge,
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
652 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Windermere YHA is a great budget option with one of the best locations in the Lakes. There has been a change in staff since my last visit but all the workers I came into contact with were polite, friendly and helpful. The view from the self catering kitchen is the highlight of any stay here and the rooms, whilst spartan, were warm and clean. There is free wi-fi for YHA members and the bar stocks competitively priced local beers. You can be in Bowness or Ambleside in ten minutes and there are plenty of decent pubs in reasonable proximity. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure which was very welcome after a night navigation in the rain! Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your nice words about YHA Windermere, and I'm pleased that you think the new team are still offering the same great welcome and hospitality. The great views, of course, will always be there. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I know its a hostel and you do get what you pay for but cleanliness really is a must for me. The place was damp with black mould throughout the building. Ceilings were absolutely covered in cobwebs. First shower I tried didn't work, tried a different shower down the corridor that worked but had no light and was dirty, this wasn't fresh dirty this had been there some time. We had wanted to get a fire going in the wood burner but the grumpy cook nearly bit our heads off "we have no wood an we are too busy to get any." We offered to buy some but were told "no!!" Food was actually really nice but portions were small. Self catering kitchen was fine but again needed some one to spend an hour giving it a good clean. Beds were comfy for me.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rcp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for your review, and I am sorry that you didn't experience our usual friendly welcome. With our new team now in place for 2014 we are now back to business as usual, providing a warm welcome and good hostel hospitality. I hope you are able to come back and stay with us again soon and see that your experience was a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Cosy, quite busy when we stayed ( some more mugs wouldn't go amiss) really friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. Ideal for Troutbeck valley and Wansfell pike. Food tasty and good value. Weather was awful but when it stopped raining a stunning view to Windermere . Highly recommended for an enjoyable family weekend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trish69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and especially about our food. YHA Winderemere is indeed a great location for exploring the Troutbeck Valley which is really quiet compared to Ambleside & Bowness. And just to let you know we've bought another box of 24 mugs for the self catering kitchen - no one should have to wait for a brew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was a cute little hostel! Located at the top of a hill, you could see all the surrounding mountains and even over look the lake. The staff is really great to answer any questions and the dining room has a great view of everything.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
James - thanks for your great review. Did you manage to identify all of the Lakes mountains that you can see from the restaurant......Coniston Old Man, Crinkle Crags, Bow Fell and The Langdale Pikes. Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.2 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Property: YHA Windermere
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake District is a truly beautiful part of the world but like many amazing places, it can get busy. If you want to get the best of the area without jostling with the crowds, head to Broad Oaks Country House Hotel. However, if they are full, then may as well stay here at this YHA. Only 2 miles from Windermere town centre and offering panoramic views, this spectacularly situated hostel is a real gem. There's a lovely pace of life here - great if you want to unwind. We recommend you take a walk through the large wooded grounds and look out for the wonderful inhabitant wildlife. At the end of the day simply relax and enjoy gorgeous sunsets with a drink on the terrace. You may love the mix of old and older as this diminishing hostel offers some of modern facilities to possibly ensure a reasonably comfortable and 'okay' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing