We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful staff”
Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Windermere
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 10 & 8) have stayed at this youth hostel 3 times this year and each time we have had a brilliant experience. The staff are warm and friendly, there is a great range of activities on site ( lots of games for wet Lake District evenings, and a beautiful woodland trail that kids easily explore themselves). The rooms and bathroom facilities are always clean, and the staff do a brilliant job of managing this interesting and quirky building. The breakfasts are thoroughly recommended. But best of all is the AMAZING view from the dining room window - not to be missed. This is a gem of a youth hostel, made all the more enjoyable by the wonderful staff. Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoosanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for a great review - we really appreciate it! Hope you can visit us again soon! Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fantastic views from this youth hostel let down by an 11.30 curfew, school-like policies, and rude staff. If you only want families to stay why not stipulate this? Bad choice for groups looking for a fun break despite the website description saying it is 'perfect for activity breaks'. Stayed at other youth hostels across this and other countries for similar breaks and found them much more accommodating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank RobL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hello. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We welcome everyone at the hostel but do attract a high proportion of families and walkers, as well as those looking for a quieter location. We are generally relaxed with the rules but do have an 11.30 curfew for the benefit of others needing a quiet nights sleep. There is no excuse for staff rudeness though - you can ring and let me know if this was an issue, but most of our reviews comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and I can also vouch for them being a great team.
I'm glad you enjoyed our fantastic view - one of the best YHA views in the country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Windermere YHA is one of the nicest, well appointed hostels that i have ever stayed in. It is a short walk away from windermere train station, which has plenty of trains daily from machester. The staff are very welcoming and accomodate many requests. The bar is well stocked, and the hostel has a good lounge area. YHA windermere is well reccomended as a first stop off on a walking holiday, or as a good base for a family adventure trip around windermere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having stayed in a number of hostels across Europe over several years, this is by some margin the best. Very good food and nice restaurant generally. Rooms are clean and plenty of showers for sharing etc. Perfect location if you are off walking. Thoroughly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim0n1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arrived later in the evening via taxi from Windermere station (12 pounds). Very welcoming check in, friendly staff all around.

Had a lovely Indian meal and a few beers before settling in to our private 6 bedded room. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

There were 5 guys on a walking trip and we did find the room a bit snug but managed to get all of our kit into the room and sort it out so it worked for that evening. If we had used the room for more than one night and had wet gear we would probably have considered splitting up into 2 rooms.

We chose this property because of it's location on Troutbeck and for the start of the Wainwright Memorial Walk. It may be a bit out of town if one wanted to go into Windermere on a regular basis but was perfect for us.

All the staff we met and dealt with were very accommodating, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

I look forward to staying at this hostel again. A job well done by all. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I returned to Youth Hostelling, after 20 years this weekend with a two night trip to YHA Windermere this time with my husband and two children. The hostel was comfortable and welcoming and there were lots of things to keep the children interested including toys, books and a quiz to spot items around the hostel. The breakfast was great and the evening meal delicious. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahawsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hostel has the most splendid and idyllic location. I stayed for 4 nights in September 2013. My bedroom provided panoramic views of the glorious lakes district. It's perfect if, like me, you love wondering around the country time or if you have a car. It's quite a trek from the train station, so if you have luggage I recommend jumping in a cab, otherwise it's quite a lovely 45 min walk. The dining and kitchen have fantastic views. The staff are lovely! The facilities are always clean. You have the option of self catering or paying for a meal to be served to you, they have an extensive menu providing for all tastes and kids eat free! There is also a bar. I enjoyed spending my evenings curled up on a couch reading my book with a glass of wine. There are plenty of walks to do from this location, remember to bring a rain coat though! If you ask the day before, they will make a picnic lunch for you to take on your adventure! Cute! I wouldn't recommend this for travellers who want to go out drinking at night. It's very chill here. There's a 11:30 curfew, but stay in and drink here! Plenty of nice people to chat to at the bar! It's worth becoming a YHA member to get free wifi and save every night you stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for a great review! Its also a good tip about the wi fi. YHA now offer free wi fi to YHA members so it's often worth joining - this also gives you a discount on every night you stay in a YHA and local discounts too....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
605 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
382 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Windermere
Price Range: $40 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy panoramic views of the lake and mountains from one of the most spectacularly situated YHAs in England. Overlooking England’s largest natural lake, YHA Windermere offers the chance to stay in an idyllic countryside setting only 2miles from Windermere and its many attractions. An ideal base for anyone wanting to escape the crowds and perfect for activity breaks and family holidays – children love the large wooded grounds with trails and wildlife. Relax with a drink on the terrace and enjoy good quality food from our newly refurbished restaurant and bar. We're now home to some colourful new tipis and bell tents too, so you can wake up overlooking the fells! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing