We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellerbrook House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ellerbrook House
Ranked #59 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

John and I stayed here in April for 3 nights, room was clean and lovely. Very helpful host and helpful in giving information about the area. Good location. Good choice of pubs and restaurants, Breakfast was fabulous. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janajohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay situated within a stone's throw of Windermere. Room not large but not petite and met all our needs. Our host was extremely attentive and very informed about the lakes
Breakfast(large choice) spot on!!!
Would go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a stay at the Ellerbrook for a night in January 2014. We received a welcoming email in advance which was a lovely touch.
Upon our arrival the owners offered us a room in their guest house next door - Beckmead House - as the room we had booked was not ensure and instead had a private bathroom. We chose to go into Beckmead for an ensuite room.
The room itself was small and the ensuite had clearly been added but it was really pleasant. It was clean and tidy with complimentary toiletries and lots of small nice touches. The tv had a DVD player.
The guest houses themselves were both smart and really pleasant.
The area is lovely with on street parking right outside. It is a 10 minute walk into the town centre where there are plenty of nice pubs and restaurants.
The breakfasts were wonderful. There was a good choice of food and it was delicious. The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough.
We would not hesitate in visiting again, it was excellent value and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bootle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the Ellerbrook over week end 26/27 October on a B&B basis, room was very clean and well stocked tea/coffee even had a hair dryer, staff were very friendly and helpful, good location for town centre about 10 minutes walking and about 30 minutes walking to the lakeside, full breakfast was absolutely superb with lots of tea/coffee and plenty of toast, would recommend this B&B to anybody, we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BootleBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night but made to feel really welcome. Bedroom was spotless and beautifully decorated as was the rest of the B&B. Breakfast was fantastic with a good selection to choose from. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marieCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before a friend's wedding so it was ideal as we literally just slept there. The room had obviously had an en suite squeezed in so it was tiny & the sink was actually in the bedroom which was awkward. For any guests on the larger size it would be very difficult to move around. The breakfast was fantastic & the owners lovely. So if you're just wanting a bed for the night then it's fine but there's no communal lounge etc or anywhere to sit outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Windermere is just around the corner and Bowness about a mile away. We were lucky to find a parking space right outside the door and left the car there most of the time as there are no parking restrictions and the walk down in to Bowness is really lovely. Even when we did drive out we managed to get the same spot when we got back! The owners Phil and Tilly have provided a lovely B&B and a fantastic breakfast with lots of choice all freshly made (no help yourself here). The breakfast room is in their adjoining property but this really isn't a problem. We didn't try the in house beauty salon but it's a nice extra if you feel like you've overdone it. The rooms are clean and fresh and although the shower is a little 'bijou' the water was hot and did the job. A hairdryer, shower gel and tea/coffee facilities are all provided along with a bottle opener which was pretty handy! I would have no hesitation in recommending Ellerbrook House and had a fabulous 3 night break there.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor at the front and found it nice an quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank North-South-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#16 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#50 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#21 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#57 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerbrook House

Property: Ellerbrook House
Address: 3 Park Avenue, Windermere LA23 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellerbrook House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Becky and Rob welcome you to Ellerbrook House and hope your stay is a memorable and enjoyable one. Ellerbrook House is a friendly place to stay, to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery the Lake District has to offer.We are situated close to the shops, restaurants and cafes of Windermere, yet it's only a ten minute walk to Bowness and the Lake. Whilst there are various ways of exploring the Lakes, local walks from our doorstep offer peace tranquility and that 'get away' from it all feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ellerbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerbrook House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing