We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Guest House
Ranked #67 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Evelyn (the owner) was very friendly and helpful even drying our wet walking clothes!. We had the small double room which was cosy but nicely decorated as was the new ensuite room. Breakfast was good. For a cheaper place to stay whilst going for walks etc this is a good base. We would certainly be happy to return in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JeffyBoy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

A little piece of Scotland in the Lakes, complete with china dolls! The room was clean and as per the pictures on the website. The double bed was pushed up against the wall, but this was no issue and I knew I had booked their smallest room.

Breakfast was fine - all the tables had individual toasters, which I have never seen before, but which meant we had hot toast whenever it was required! You are eating your breakfast with an audience of china dolls, which I suppose could be off-putting, but which we just found amusing.

Evelyn is lovely, very helpful in suggesting things to do etc. She also noticed things that we didn't eat on the breakfast and adjusted the following day's accordingly, which was a nice touch.

At £50/night, this was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the pet-friendly Dunvegan Guest house for 5 nights with my mum and our Jack Russell Terrier. Evelyn, the host couldn't have made us more welcome and enquired each day what our plans were, often offering advice on places to go and how best to get there.

Breakfast was delicious, and not to mention filling! We really were set up for a day of walking and exploring what the Lake District has to offer.

Our room, although small, had everything we needed and was wonderfully cosy and spotlessly clean - particularly the bathroom.

Ideally located just a few minutes from Windermere bus/train station and a short walk from Bowness on Windermere. Would definitely stay here again.

Thank you, Evelyn for looking after us!

Amy, Linda & Bandit

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Evelyn let us stay for a single night on a Bank Holiday weekend. Thank you.
A small room (we probably had the smallest in the house) but a lovely bathroom. Spotlessly clean, good breakfast, comfortable bed and quiet.
Excellent value for money. Ate at Giotto around the corner which I would also recommend.
Dunvegan gives Bed & Breakfasts a good name.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Dunvegan is our home from home in the lakes, we have been going there for 9yrs and love it. Evelyn is like a mother hen, always makes us welcome. rooms are spotless, beds comfy and warm.you only need to ask if you need anything. Breakfast sets us up for the day and a wide choice if you want anything different, hubby is veggie but no trouble for Evelyn. and we can take our little dog which is brilliant. Close to all shops and food outlets. and only a short pleasant walk down to Bowness on Windermere looking forward to 1st June were back again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Dunvegan for two nights with my boyfriend, warm welcome by Evelyn, shown to our rooms had good conversation she was very genuine and helpful, gave us some good advise about where to go and what to see as it was mine and my boyfriend's first time in the Lakes. The outside was very pretty, the room was perfect for the both of us, breakfast was superb and prompt! Would recommend here to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamB1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in this B&B situated in Windermere around the corner from shops and restaurants and a good 20 minute walk downhill to Lake Windermere and Bowness which is great.

Greeted by Kirsty who was very friendly and went out of her way to make us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. However we did face a similar experience to previous review regarding payment. Having booked via "LateRooms.com" with my debit card I was under the impression I had already paid so was a bit surprised to be asked for a cash payment when we arrived and as they didn't have a card machine we too had to go to a cash machine. This wasn't a major problem and there was no pressure to pay as long as we did it before leaving.

Room was basic but perfectly adequate and spotless. Breakfast was outstanding. Very well cooked to order and lots of choice served in cosy room which had a collection of dolls, teapots and family photos.

The only negative was the slight smell of dog when you enter the building which may be a problem if you are not an animal lover.

Free parking on street and behind the B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
614 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Guest House

Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $89 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing