We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Broadlands Guest House
Ranked #27 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I booked this weekend break for my parents as a present. They had a fantastic time at the Broadlands. The accommodation was spotless and the owners were friendly and made my parents feel at home. They bothed loved the breakfast and could not fault the guesthouse one bit. Broadlands is also ideally located for the centre of Windermere or a short walk to Bowness on Windermere.
My paretns are planning to re -visit in summer.
Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbwfc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
77
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The only negative I could provide is that the pillows were not comfy. Everything else is absolutely amazing!!

We chose the Broadlands as our b&b honeymoon base because of the reviews and were not disappointed!

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly atmosphere from Janette and a room with chocolates, champagne and balloons!

From there on out we had nothing but great advice on trips and walks, tasty, locally produced breakfasts, and a clean respectable room.

We will definately be coming back here again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxyvixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We do not normally bother writing reviews but we were so impressed with this guest house we felt we had to. We spent 3 nights there and were made to feel so welcome by Brian and Janette from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble and their advice on the walks in the local area was really helpful to us. The house was spotless and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and would definitely go back. Our hosts were lovely and very chatty and gave us lots of information and guidence about the area such as activities and restaurants. The bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed in our room, including little extra touches i.e. a small box of choclates. The breakfast was lovely, I ecspecially liked the fruit and yogurt! This B&B was located just a 10min walk from windermere station and it was near an abudance of shops and restaurants. It is about a 20min walk from the main piers on Windermere lake and the ferry crossing, the whole area is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McCaspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We usually choose self-catering when on holiday but as a short break we decided being waited on for breakfast would make a welcome change.
Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the park at the front. The bed was comfortable and while the bathroom was compact it had a decent shower, a small sink and a toilet, nothing missing and a few nice touches like cotton buds and nice toiletries. The hosts were chatty, pleasant and helpful.

Locationwise it's great for exploring on foot, by bus or by train (we don't drive) and all the amenities are right nearby, including shops, pubs, restaurants, bus stops, train station etc....

Breakfast was worth it alone. A great mixed fruit salad and yoghurt, or cereals to begin and a good hot, well cooked breakfast with good local produce including really delicious sausages!!!

I'll definitely recommend Broadlands and I'd definitely go back. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bewildergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I don't usually do reviews but had to leave a review of Broadlands this time. I recently returned from my fourth stay at Broadlands in as many years, which in itself tells you how much I like this guest house. From the moment I arrived on my first visit I was made to feel really welcome and Broadlands has now become a real 'home from home'. There is a lovely atmosphere at Broadlands and this is totally down to Janette and Brian. Thery are both so kind and always cheerful, and will do anything to ensure their guests have a good stay. The breakfast is superb and plentiful, and beautifully presented. The bed is of a high quality, which ensures a good night's sleep, and I can honestly say the bedlinen and bath towels are the nicest I've found anywhere. (and how nice to have a bath sheet, rather than a bath towel, which falls off everytime you try and wrap it round you!) Everything is spotlessly clean and the guest house is also in an excellent location. I struck really lucky when I found Broadlands and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Windermere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMember36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I was actually in the Broadlands Guesthouse in august 2009, but I did not know this internet site back then. I absolutely adored this guest house! It is small, convenient and the couple that manages it is very friendly and gives a lot of information about Windermere and the lake district whenever you like that. The breakfast was lovely and you can take a lot of tours for which you can have a pick up at the hotel. The managing couple is enthousiastic and I loved being their for about 7 days, it was like being at home. I am definitely going back there next year, the lake district really got me!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#54 of 108 in Windermere
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 108 in Windermere
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#16 of 108 in Windermere
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadlands Guest House

Property: Broadlands Guest House
Address: 19 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadlands Guest House is in the heart of the English Lake District. A traditional stone built Victorian house built circa 1860 and is located in a quiet road 2 minutes from the centre of Windermere Village and a pleasant 15 minute walk to the village of Bowness on Windermere and the Lake. We have a limited number of car parking passes available between April and October for you to use during your stay, however there is some free parking available on Broad Street. The house has lovely views overlooking Ellethwaite Park and is ideally located for public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Broadlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadlands Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing