We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts”
Review of Briscoe Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briscoe Lodge
Ranked #70 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Although the room was very small the bed was comfortable, the breakfast excellent with first class porridge and the location convenient. It was also reasonably priced. Our host was very helpful lending us maps for walks etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Lake District. It's 3 minutes drive from Windermere town and 10 minutes from Bowness, and a great base to visit the rest of Lake District with a car. The place was absolutely charming, and our hosts, Graham and Janet were really lovely people. Their cat, Jevvy, was downright friendly too. The double room we booked (Ennerdale) was a little small but very cosy and clean. Shower wasn't as powerful as I'd have liked but it's pretty standard for most UK B&Bs. Breakfast was good. They even have a decent selection of DVDs which you can borrow to view in your room. We felt really at home here, and it made our stay in Windermere really memorable. I would highly recommend this place. In short - Awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiSyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Very friendly couple, the room was lovely, clean & warm. Breakfast was good & close to all ammenities. We have stayed at the guest house as a couple & in the apartment with our children. Will always use this guest house when visiting Windermere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely break.
The hotel is a few minute's walk from the centre of Windermere and about half an hour's walk downhill to the lake, or there is a regular bus service. Briscoe is very clean, the owner is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast (full english or continental) is top notch. There is a full tea tray replenished daily (tea, coffee, hot choc, biscuits etc), botteld water daily and even an iron and ironing board in the rooms. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel as we made the most of the lake disctrict, but there were others who did and their requirements were met.

We were very fortunate and had fantastic weather - we have come home today with suntans (or sunburn!!).

There are a few walks that are nice and gentle with amazing scenery, Orrest head is one and another is Queen Adelaide Hill. Another nice idea is to take a picnic to Cockshot Point by the lake in Bowness where it's lovely and quiet with amazing views.

We ate at some lovely restaurants in Bowness, Jacksons Bistro (Cumbrian food, fantastic lamb), Villa Positano (Italian), and Hylton's - a bit of everything, but be warned, the portions are huge.

There are some really good pubs in the area and the locals make you feel very friendly.

We cannot fault any aspect of our stay (we just missed our super kingsize bed!!), but we will return to Windermere and to Briscoe Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura&garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at Briscoe Lodge as a young couple (both 24) for two nights at the start of November. When we arrived we were able to park right outside for free and we immediately welcomed by the friendly owner, shown to our room and a few things explained - just enough and not too much.

Location
It is very well located in the centre of Windermere but on a side street, which means it's very quiet. It took us about 20mins to walk to the Lake.

Food
Breakfast was fantastic. We simple filled out a sheet in the evening with what we wanted and left it on the door handle. They made it fresh as soon as you came downstairs and the food was great, especially the sausages.

Accommodation
Absolutely ideal for what we wanted. It was a good size with plenty of room for bags etc...Bed was large and comfortable. Pillows were feather but the owner immediately brought me some polyester ones up when requested. Decor was brilliant, it was netural with the odd touch of colour, which is ideal and it seemed like it had recently been decorated. The bathroom again was good and exceptionally spotless!

Price
We paid just £100 for two nights in total, which I think is excellent considering the standard of accomodation and location.

Other
Owners were very friendly and helpful, they also suggested some nice walks for us to go on that we wouldn't have known about. They said hello when we came in and were overall just really pleasant. They have two lovely cats and as a cat lover that was nice, especially the one that's always in the breakfast room wanting attention! They also gave us the password to use their internet on my laptop.

We'd definetly return here the next time we go to Windermere, we couldn't fault it one bit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Just came back from a couple of days spent at Briscoe Lodge.
We couldnt fault a thing.
It is very well located, clean, friendly owners and good value for money.
All in all, we will use again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Very well-located, pet-friendly, self-catering apartment. First floor of cottage. Fifteen mins walk to Lake Windermere but Bowness facilities are less than five mins walk away. Great base for exploring the lakes. Very comfy bed and sofas. DVD library, free wireless internet. Very tiny kitchen.

Owners are really friendly and keen to advise on trips/walks etc, being keen walkers themselves.

Only problem we had was that the previous guest broke the shower pump so our shower had hardly any pressure. However, the owners gave us a discount on our stay due to this (and we were allowed to use the shower in the main house). I would also say that the floor is very thin and sounds come up from the flat below. Likewise, I'm sure they could hear us walking arund upstairs too!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DominoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briscoe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briscoe Lodge

Address: 26 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $83 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briscoe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Briscoe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briscoe Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing