We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Briscoe Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
28
19
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
19
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering apartmentbig sofashort staybunk bedsthe ground floorb blake districtexcellent accommodationbreakfast menulovely hostsstayed here for two nightsminute walkwould stay againperfect locationa lovely staygrahamunit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 60 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have stayed at Briscoe lodge twice now and can highly recommend it. Service is fab, rooms are extremely good value for money and the breakfasts are awesome. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlwiththecurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Although the room was very small the bed was comfortable, the breakfast excellent with first class porridge and the location convenient. It was also reasonably priced. Our host was very helpful lending us maps for walks etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Lake District. It's 3 minutes drive from Windermere town and 10 minutes from Bowness, and a great base to visit the rest of Lake District with a car. The place was absolutely charming, and our hosts, Graham and Janet were really lovely people. Their cat, Jevvy, was downright friendly too. The double room we booked (Ennerdale) was a little small but very cosy and clean. Shower wasn't as powerful as I'd have liked but it's pretty standard for most UK B&Bs. Breakfast was good. They even have a decent selection of DVDs which you can borrow to view in your room. We felt really at home here, and it made our stay in Windermere really memorable. I would highly recommend this place. In short - Awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiSyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Very friendly couple, the room was lovely, clean & warm. Breakfast was good & close to all ammenities. We have stayed at the guest house as a couple & in the apartment with our children. Will always use this guest house when visiting Windermere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely break.
The hotel is a few minute's walk from the centre of Windermere and about half an hour's walk downhill to the lake, or there is a regular bus service. Briscoe is very clean, the owner is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast (full english or continental) is top notch. There is a full tea tray replenished daily (tea, coffee, hot choc, biscuits etc), botteld water daily and even an iron and ironing board in the rooms. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel as we made the most of the lake disctrict, but there were others who did and their requirements were met.

We were very fortunate and had fantastic weather - we have come home today with suntans (or sunburn!!).

There are a few walks that are nice and gentle with amazing scenery, Orrest head is one and another is Queen Adelaide Hill. Another nice idea is to take a picnic to Cockshot Point by the lake in Bowness where it's lovely and quiet with amazing views.

We ate at some lovely restaurants in Bowness, Jacksons Bistro (Cumbrian food, fantastic lamb), Villa Positano (Italian), and Hylton's - a bit of everything, but be warned, the portions are huge.

There are some really good pubs in the area and the locals make you feel very friendly.

We cannot fault any aspect of our stay (we just missed our super kingsize bed!!), but we will return to Windermere and to Briscoe Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura&garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews