We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value but no dinner!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value but no dinner!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate in the restaurant here a few years ago, and the food was excellent, so when we needed an overnight stop in Windermere, we booked the Lamplighter. We were given menus when we booked in, so after a wander around, we came back, freshened up, made our selections from the menu, and went down to dinner at 7pm. The place was in darkness, bar and restaurant locked up. We even went outside to check if there were any lights on, but no! It wasn't going to open anytime soon. Massively disappointed. Why were we not advised of this when we checked in? I can understand there may be little demand on a Monday night in winter, but it would have been nice to know, and why give us menus? Fortunately, there is a lovely little bistro, Mojos, almost next door, which WAS open. We had a lovely meal there.

Apart from that, this is a nice wee hotel. Bed was huge and very comfy, we both slept very well. Unlike some other reviews, we found it warm and cosy. Shower room was small but adequate, slightly odd floor, but it is an old property, and you expect these things! Very clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked, and very tasty.
Very close to the station, several cafes, pubs and eating places in the town, (although not many do food on a Monday in the off season!) It's about a mile and a half walk downhill to the lake and Bowness, which is a bit more touristy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moggy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    111
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
185
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in February. I thought the bed was fabulously comfortable... Haven't slept so well for ages! Nice cosy feather quilt and the room was so toasty warm! The room was finished to a really good standard with a nice big bath, clean and adequately furnished. the food really was exquisite... Had dinner one night - duck and cherry pate was divine and the lamb shank was cooked to perfection! Huge portions too, which was a little bit of a shame as I had no room to try one of the gorgeous looking desserts. Breakfast was really lovely too. We had a cooked breakfast which really was a cut above. Beautifully seasoned tomatoes, tasty good quality bacon, luxuriously creamy scrambled eggs. The staff really were great and went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. The only downside I found was that, despite allowing dogs to stay, they didn't allow them in the main bar area, which was a shame as I would have happily sat in there for the evening otherwise. They allowed dogs in the front function room but there was no one else in there! Great place though. Would really recommend the food!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imogensday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in February 2013.
We found the place clean and the staff were very nice.
I would recommend you take a jumper in February, the heating was on at all times but we felt cold in the bedroom, bar and dining room.
This place was very good value and the location is great for accessing all the amenities of Windermere.
You can walk here from the railway station in minutes or in to the town centre. There is parking on site or on the street adjacent to the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Blakeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February 2013 and we were very impressed with the high standard of the food and the good value. We had diner and breakfast and could not fault either. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection with triple cooked chips, fantastic!
The room was clean and although a little cool we wouldn't mark this place down for the weather conditions.
The location is ideal for all the amenities of Windermere and it is in walking distance of the railway station.
There is limited free parking on site. All in all I would say it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Some rooms are adjacent to the road so check when booking if you prefer not to hear traffic when in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with my wife and 2 kids, the surrounding area is beautiful, the hotel has all you need for a weekend stay, the staff are very friendly and courteous, the rooms clean (room 9, great sized bed), and the evening meal was very nice (oxtail soup, exceptional), and breakfast ticked all the boxes. Would stay again and would recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marsam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited The Lamplighter on Christmas Eve for a short one night stay. The place is lovely and full of character and good value for money. The room was really comfortable- massive bed! The floor in the bathroom on a fair slant, which I thought was a wonderful little character feature and really made me chuckle. The hotel is in a superb location with the train station, bus stop, centre and shops a minutes walk away. The only negative is the room was extremely warm, and the windows are not easy to negotiate and keep open. Other than that we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have recently stayed at The Lamplighter for 1 night for my husband's 30th birthday...This is a great little hotel to stay in if your looking for somewhere close to the station, pubs etc.
We found the room to be lovely, clean and modern- perhaps a little too warm in there but this is better than being cold so I wont complain!
We also dined at The Lamplighter which was very nice and I was happy to receive a 10% discount for being a hotel resident :)- The food is gorgeous and such big portions! The breakfast is also fantastic with lots of choice of fresh fruits, cereals and a good sized Full English!
This is definitely a good base for a Lake district traveller as it such a good location in Windermere and so easy accessible to Bowness, Ambleside etc There is also a carpark for hotel residents which is great for a town centre hotel.
My only slight grumbles would be that there is a constant food smell in the hallways of the hotel and that it isn't too dissimilar to some good bed & breakfasts that we have stayed in in The Lake District which are £20-£30 cheaper per night.
We would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlyferg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,370 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing