We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, great staff and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, great staff and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Room very clean. James who met us was fabulous, very helpful and knew his stuff. We didn't need to go anywhere else for food as it was locally sourced excellent and cooked by James's brother. The wine menu suited us as well. Overall the stay was faultless. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hIggsyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    111
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
185
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at the Lamplighter for one night . Room was spacious and clean with a view of the main street in Windermere, although it was surprisingly quiet. Staff went out of their way to please . We ate in the restaurant for dinner and although it was a little more pricey compared to other local eateries,it was some of the best food we have tasted . The menu was varied and the waiter extremely helpful.Breakfast was the same, very personal service,and everything we ate was delicious. Compliments to the chef. We will eat there again. Hotel is ideally situated for the 30 minute walk up to Orrest Head,[Wainwrights first walk] which is just around the corner with spectacular views of Windermere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted on arrival by James ,who has to be possibly the most helpful and friendly person ive ever come across.The hotel was easy to find and in a good location.The refurbished room was small but good value for money,the bathroom was spotless.Areas of the hotel were slightly dated but i believe the hotel is under ongoing refurbishment.We ate in the hotel which was rather expensive but not too bad as the food quality was good.All the staff were chatty,polite and helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigolovelyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent attentive, friendly staff and superb quality and presentation of food at a reasonable price.
Excellent central location in Windemere village within 20mins walk of boats/shops at Bownes.
Only negative was the personal service for all breakfast items. Whilst the service was first class we would have preffered a buffet for the fruit juice, cereals etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room was fine. Clean, comfortable and quiet.
If you want more than one cup of tea though, take your own tea bags; seems an odd thing to economise on! More pricey than other places in Windermere but was the only place that would allow us just to book one night and I can't compare others .rooms.
Breakfast was good and service slick.
Had to pay on arrival which I object to.

Right, minor gripes out of the way. What makes up for anything you may nit pick over is the friendly staff. The lady owner and her son were charming; the Liverpudlian barman , the European waitress , the younger barman. All went out of their way to be helpful. The Olympics were on and a group of us were given the room next to the restaurant part to cheer Team.GB on. Furniture rearrangement, noise, a well behaved dog was all indulged.

We had our meal there and food was lovely. Ye restaurant proper was full so I suspect locals like it too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Lamplighter in Windermere, and have to say we had no complaints....Rooms were spacious and beds were cosey. The staff were also very polite and chatty and breakfasts were huge.

The closeness to the train station was very handy, and also good to catch a bus from the station as we took a day out to Coniston.

If I had to say of any improvements, it would be that they could start serving Green Tea as an option, as I have come to realise I can't drink any other type of brew.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just back from a short break at this hotel and can only say we wnjoyed it very much. Excellent staff cant praise them enough. The room (2) we had was tastefully decorated and looked like it had been recently renovated. Fabulous choice on breakfast menu, cant comment on restaurant as we didnt use it but the menu looked good. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing