We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coppice Guest House
Ranked #15 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Lake District”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have stayed with Chris & Barbara for 2 nights last year and planning to visit them again this year.

Great and very friendly owners and breakfast to die for :)

Looking forward to see them again.

Karolina & Kinga

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina-Stepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked our breakfasts, which is very pleasing as all the ingreediants are from local suplyers in South Cumbria. You have not said but i know you really liked the use of our SPA club membership at the 4 **** McDonald OLD England Hotel in Bowness. We are very pleased you will be returning and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Chris & Barb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    74
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
200
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very nice Guest House, very clean, very comfortable and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent served in a lovely light airy dining room with very nice outlook.
Can definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
What a wonderful review and thanks for taking to time to write it. It was nice having you stay with us and as you wish to stay longer next time and wish to return please phone us for the latest and best up to date offers.with discounts for the length of stay. We look forward to welcomming you back again soon.
Chris & Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying overnight as I was working in the region. A charming guest house with lots of character in an idyllic location. Extremely Friendly and hospitable owners who are always happy to help. Had a peaceful night's sleep and woke refreshed the next morning to a wonderful breakfast accompanied by top-up refreshments to set me up for the day ahead. Price's are reasonable and I would happily stop there again, and highly recommend the establishment to anybody looking to stay in the area for one or more nights. Sadly I cannot rate the leisure facilities as I did not use them, much to my regret.

Room Tip: I stopped in a standard double room, very clean spacious and well equipped including with an ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_Heads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi, thanks for your review, We do thank you for taking to time to do it. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be returning soon. we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night recently and only wish we could have stayed longer. Despite being a late booking Barbara could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The quality of our accommodation was exceptional and the unexpected little touches provided by Barbara were delightful. e.g. I just loved the teddy bear on the bed! Breakfast was plentiful, cooked to perfection and beautifully served. Everything in the breakfast room was co-ordinated and with the top service we felt like we were in a top class restaurant. We stayed at many B&B's this month and The Coppice would definitely be at the top of our list. It was also great value for money!. Thank you Barbara and Chris for your hospitality.
Helen and Jeff, Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello Helen, thank you for the great review and for putting us top of your list of B & Bs on your tour of England we are very pleased you liked us best. We are reted by the AA as one of the top 300, Best B & Bs in Britain and so pleased we lived up to that award.
It is a long way for a return visit but perhaps some time in the future. Very Best Regards to you both,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hi we r stay only one night but we loved rooms and breakfast. Absoulty clean ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legrandblue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We arrived dead on check in time (13:00) and the room wasn't ready but we were only waiting a few minutes for the finishing touches. Barbara greeted us and made us feel very welcome.

We stayed in a deluxe room with a four poster bed over looking the main road which links Windermere town with Bowness-on-Windermere. This wasn't a problem as it is a fairly quiet road especially in the evening. The room was spread with silk rose petals which was a nice touch.

Our only gripe was the free Wifi connection - it's appalling. Very hit and miss. Us being tech savvy found it faster using our 3G connection especially when using a laptop and iPad. But this is our only complaint. Having said this if you're planning on using the internet to search for things-to-do in The Lakes, have no fear as they're plenty of leaflets available on the landing.

The breakfast selection was very good providing a cooked breakfast and a good selection of cereals. The Mrs was particularly happy when she spotted the Coco Pops!

The rooms are very comfortable and cosy. The bathroom, although on the small side, provided a brilliant power shower which was very refreshing.

Overall, apart from the internet debacle, we really enjoyed our stay at the Coppice and recommend to anyone with it being in a brilliant spot halfway between two towns!

Mike and Kath

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacAppott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were taken aback by the very friendly and welcoming attitude of the owners and the staff. First-time visitors and mountain-bikers, we naturally had plenty of questions. They were all answered with a smile and did help us a great deal! Be careful with breakfast: it tastes so good that there is a danger of over-eating. We had to postpone our bike rides by an hours or two, laying in bed and digesting the full monties! Make sure you don't miss out on the home-made marmelades, they taste like heaven.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Property: The Coppice Guest House
Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing